Monday, Mar. 08, 2004 3:23 p.m.

My dad strikes again.

When I was coming back from the dentist on Friday, he called me to tell me that because of the extreme winds, his school lost power. He invited me out to lunch. Since I had nothing pressing at the time, I agreed.

We went to lunch, just as a package showed up for me. I grabbed the box and took it into the car with me. I left a book that was in the box in his car, and I realized it when he dropped me off after lunch and our trip to the mall. I called him to ask about it, and he said that he�d return it to me on Saturday.

Well, Saturday rolls around, and I hear nothing from him. I call him, and he says that he�s busy, not in the area, running errands, etc. When I asked him where he was, he wouldn�t give me a straight answer. I offered to go get the book from him if he�d just tell me a time and place, but he wouldn�t do either. He also told me that he had �no idea� when he�d be back in the area.

I went about my errands for the day, and figured that I�d get it on Sunday. I called him on Sunday and he didn�t answer either his home phone or his cell phone.

I don�t get why someone would have a cell phone if they don�t ever answer it�which he never seems to. I called and called and called with no luck. I tried calling because I was near his house to go pick it up, but again no luck. He couldn�t possibly have left the book in his house for me to pick up at my leisure. He had to make things difficult.

Finally, when I got ahold of him, he was nasty to me and told me that he wasn�t bringing it to me. At that point, I�d had about enough of the situation, and I told him that he had no choice. For the whole weekend, I�d bent over backwards to try and meet him somewhere, go to his house at his convenience, etc. He kept talking over me, of course. Finally, he agreed to bring it to me.

When I went downstairs to get it from him, he told me that he wanted things that he�d given me back, such as my bed, and the laptop he gave me.

Um�..as for the bed, I specifically remember him complaining, when I went to get it, that he was going to have to buy another one for precious grandmamma to have a place to sleep. It�s not like he was expecting it back. And for the laptop�I specifically asked him if he was ever going to have to give it back. He told me no. Since I wasn�t expecting to ever have to give it back, I modified it by adding memory, changing to OS, adding software, etc. I�ve had it for THREE YEARS. Suddenly, after we get into a fight, he wants it back? He didn�t tell me this on Friday when he knew? I�m sure. When I asked why he needed it back so badly, he wouldn�t tell me.

Methinks that he talked to grandmamma and she started some stupid crap to put another wedge between us. Doesn�t she get it? She can have all of his attention as far as I�m concerned. He never really garnished me with a lot of affection since I was 13, and I�m pretty used to his absence.

He acts like such a child sometimes�.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral