Sunday, Jan. 25, 2004 4:36 p.m.

Well, I just about had the scare of my life.

On Thursday [actually Friday morning] at 4:30 in the morning, my door buzzer started going off. Naturally, I opened my eyes, thought about who could possibly be stopping by my apartment at 4:30 am, then said �Screw it� and rolled back over.

The buzzer went off again. For a split second, my mind wandered over to the idea that it was possibly a friend or relative coming over to alert me of an emergency and both of my phones had somehow crapped out.

But, yet again, I decided to ignore it.

A few minutes later, someone started pounding on my door. I cautiously approached the door and said, �Who is it?�

�Your car alarm is going off!�

�I don�t have a car alarm. Who�s there?�

�You drive a blue Saturn?�

�Yes?�

�Your car alarm is going off!�

�Again, I don�t have an alarm.�

I had looked through the peephole, only to see, first, his hand was over it. Then he moved his hand and was standing over to the side of the door to the point where I couldn�t see him. At this point, both Bandit and Kato had their backs arched and their fur all puffed up. There wasn�t a chance in hell that I was opening the door.

�Your car alarm is going off! Open the door!� and he started pounding.

I backed away and it stopped. I thought about calling the police, but I thought that there might somehow be some merit to what he was saying. I mean, I don�t have a car alarm on my car; my car has nothing automatic. However, maybe someone else�s car alarm was going off. I even thought about going outside to check, but it seemed that there was some kind of psychopath sitting outside my door.

I called B and despite my protests, he came over. There wasn�t any alarms going off in my parking lot and there wasn�t anyone outside my door.

I went to sleep.

I called the office and the police the next day to file a report. The office woman would barely let me finish what the hell I was saying before rambling on about something that had happened to her before.

That�s great, woman, but I�d like it if perhaps you um�..put springs on the door so that they shut behind you instead of staying open�.or told the tenants not to buzz random people in�.

Life went on for the day, and I was getting a lot of helpful advice about self defense, as well as ways to secure my apartment. B wanted to meet for lunch so I drove over to meet him. As I was driving, I noticed that my service light came on on my car.

It was turning out to be a perfect day.

I took it into the dealership after lunch, and was at home playing on the computer when my phone rang. Apparently, someone came into the office to complain that a car alarm was going off on a blue Saturn Vue all night and he had tried to warn the owner, but she wouldn�t come out of her apartment.

So�.apparently, the psychopath outside my door was admitting himself to the office?

That didn�t change one crucial fact, though. I do NOT HAVE A CAR ALARM! The woman at the office said that people were complaining that a horn was going off all night in my car.

Then it hit me. My service light came on. I called up the dealership to ask if a horn can malfunction and go off by itself.

Apparently, it can. And it would resemble a car alarm.

Aha! How stupid!

Anyway, I haven�t heard anything from the neighbors about being pissed off, and the horn was fixed by the dealership [only to malfunction again today, grrrrr]. So I guess it�s no one�s fault really. I amended my police report, but I still think that that guy could have used some tact when trying to tell me what was going on.

You just don�t go pounding on people�s doors at 4:30 in the morning.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral