Thursday, Mar. 25, 2004 2:55 p.m.

In order to try something different, I�ve decided to answer a question from the book that R, the Life Floater got me for Christmas.

Yes, I�m aware that it�s weird that I�m bringing up a Christmas present four months later�

Anyway�..

What is the best manifestation of freedom in your life?

This, of course, depends on my age. At my current age, it�s obviously my apartment. My apartment signifies the ultimate freedom�the idea that I don�t answer to anyone, not even at home. Of course, with this wonderful freedom comes the irritating consequence that I have to pay bills, at least reasonably, on time. Anyway, while in my apartment, I can go to bed at whatever time I want, clean it whenever I want, wear whatever I want, arrange things however I want, etc.

When I was younger, however, I think that my freedom was best represented by my car. Although, it wasn�t total freedom (unlike some people, whenever I was pissed off, I couldn�t just get into my car and leave), it was freedom nonetheless. I no longer had to rely on others to drive me to and from places, including school. In fact, I had control over the situation in that I often was the driver�I could choose when and where we would go.

When I was even younger than that, the only thing that I had to be free within myself was my own imagination. I could dream up any scenario that I liked, and act it out how I liked.

I�m unsure of what�s the best version of freedom, though. When I was younger, I may not have had much control over what I did and where I went, but I was free of the personal responsibility that goes with them. I wasn�t responsible for car payments, or even car repairs. It was very simple and very enjoyable.

I guess, though, that your demands change with the time. After experiencing the freedom of my own apartment, I don�t think that I�d ever go back to being controlled, even if I do hate the responsibility that comes with it.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral