Tuesday, Jan. 06, 2004 10:03 a.m.

I�m always intrigued by the barrage of New Year�s Resolutions that appear during that first week of the year. I never understood the concept of them really. I think that I used to, at some point in my life, make lists of things that I would change about myself to join into the activity, but I never really planned on doing anything about it.

I mean, why is it that the first day of a new year is the day that you decide to fix all of your flaws? At least here in Michigan, it�s a cold, miserable time. If you wanted to lose weight, why wouldn�t you try and aim for the spring or summer, when the weather is more conducive to exercising and more activities are available to you?

Oh, if we did that, health clubs would go out of business.

I, myself, am a member of a health club. I see nothing at all wrong with my health club. In fact, I love it. It has tons of machines, a lot of variety, and with the exception of the incline bench press machine, everything is almost always available to use at any time. They offer so many group fitness classes, a nice lap pool, a play pool, and a couple of hot tubs. However, I didn�t waste my money by spending $300 to sign up as well as the monthly fee; I actually attend my health club on a fairly regular basis.

However, it cracks me up that people sign up for health clubs, and then by the end of January, you never see them again. I suppose it�s their prerogative to waste their money, but it seems like a doomed resolution to begin with. Join a health club in the spring or summer, when things are cheaper, and more activities are available.

Anyway, I never understood the concept of resolutions. I�ve noticed a lot of people, with their online journals, have created these insanely long lists of things that they want to change about themselves. It�s almost as if resolutions are used as excuses to make yourself feel badly. I mean, I�m pretty happy with myself. I see no major things that I need to write down and change.

I like it better when people look back on their year and reflect upon the events in their lives. That seems like a more effective way of seeing what needs to change and what doesn�t. It seems more healthy to look back on accomplishments from the previous year than to start the new year with an impossible list of flaws.

I was pretty happy with my year. I mean, it may very well have been the best year of my life. Not only did I finish one of my major, life-long goals [graduating college very well, actually], but I reached out and really applied myself. It was rough in the beginning, with the economy continuing its nosedive, but I persisted, and eventually succeeded.

I got a very good job in my exact specialty, and I�m doing well at it. I�ve moved out on my own, paid for my own things, bought my own brand-new car, and I�ve met a wonderful person whose every move seems to make me happy.

I don�t really see a point in trying to improve on anything.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral