Monday, Mar. 01, 2004 10:04 p.m.

I should be in bed by now.

I should be at least lying in bed, in the dark, or curled up with a book on the verge of blissful sleep. Instead, I�m sipping some tea, whilst sitting at my computer, imagining that I have something interesting to say.

Why don�t I have something interesting to say?

I�ve spent the last�.oh��at least seven days locked up in my apartment, lying around, watching daytime TV. I swear that I can feel my muscles atrophying. Why is it that I always get sick? What must I do differently?

I�m not under stress. At least, I don�t think that I am. I remember stress. Stress was an electromagnetics final at 7:30 in the morning after surviving with no sleep, 12 cups of coffee, a car that didn�t have either a working speedometer or heater, and an asshole boyfriend. Stress is when you wake up after taking a nap after that final to realize that it�s recently snowed�.and you have no way of defrosting your windshield for the drive home.

That is where I was two years ago. Stress is not sitting in a warm apartment with two friendly cats, all you can eat, with a new car, a great boyfriend, and a pricey gym membership.

I take vitamins. I take tons of vitamins. I take practically every vitamin.

I wash my hands almost constantly. I wash them when I walk in from coming outside. I wash them before eating. I use that Purell stuff.

And most importantly, how can I be sick all the time when I�ve already caught everything? Shouldn�t I be immune to everything by now?

No, apparently, there�s some remote strain of cold that I haven�t caught yet, which has manifested itself in my sinuses�.and this is after spending four or five days throwing up everything that was placed in front of me. I�ve gotten so good at being sick that I can get dizzy while sitting in my office chair.

Unless�.

Unless, I�m sick from all the stress of dealing with stupid people.

Specifically, stupid people who cannot drive.

One of these weekends, I�m going to take my video camera, hand it to a passenger, and ask him to tape a day of driving around. I�m sure that we�ll find at least 100 driving violations that are inherently dangerous in the first hour.

Can cops ticket someone off of a video tape?

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral