Thursday, Sept. 09, 2004 12:20 p.m.

B is preparing for a triathlon and his excitement about the event is very contagious. Just being around all of it makes me want to hop into a pool and swim better. However, when the time actually comes to do it, I have to drag myself out of the house to go. Ahhhhh�.laziness�.the bane of my existence.

Anyway, I�ve been reading this triathlon book he gave me for some tips on how to train. After all, I�ll have like almost an entire year to train, right? Now, it�s pretty easy to improve your running and biking; you just keep on truckin� and try not to injure yourself. Swimming is a different matter, though.

If you swim wrong, you could die. Well, okay, so you probably wouldn�t die. However, if you swim with an incorrect stroke, just as if you run with incorrect form, you�ll possibly injure yourself, or at the very least, be a very very inefficient swimmer. It�s hard to see when you screw up swimming though.

So this book suggests that people join a swimming club. I went to the website to look up the swim clubs in the area. The first one, in Warren, is at a now defunct swimming pool, so that one, I�m sure is disbanded. The next one charges $65 every seven weeks and I don�t really feel like paying that much for something that I might not even enjoy.

The final one, LOL, has this beautiful website with this pretty picture of a pool. I started to read the details and it says that it�s a �gay and lesbian swim club�.

Damn.

I kept reading, though, and it said that if you�re gay, a lesbian, or gay/lesbian friendly and can swim a length of pool without drowning, you�re welcome to swim with them.

Now, why would I care if I was in a gay and lesbian swim club? I mean, everyone�s there to swim, right? Then I thought about it.

Would I really be comfortable in the locker room?

Hmmm��.I�m not sure.

Regardless, though, I think I�ll give it a shot. Hell, if anyone can help me swim better, I don�t care who they are, LOL.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral