Wednesday, Mar. 03, 2004 12:50 p.m.

Ughhhhhhhhhh�..my sinuses are congested despite my best efforts at swallowing decongestants. I�ve tried two different versions of Sudafed, and now I�m on some kind of prescription-grade stuff, which I highly suspect is making me cough up my lungs.

In other words, I feel fantastic.

The stupid people in my apartment complex have struck again. Now that there is no longer any snow, this isn�t as much of a problem, but there are at least two vehicles [and I suspect another] that sit in the parking lot and never move. Since they never ever move, and no one has any idea who they belong to, the parking lot is not ever properly plowed. This results in a rather hostile parking situation as there are 1) not enough spots 2) you can�t see the lines that divide the spots, hence people park improperly with the result that there aren�t enough spots and 3) the lot is dangerous as hell.

I told the rental office about the vehicles, alluding to the idea that they may be abandoned. Apparently, one of the vehicles belongs to a gentleman who is spending the winter in Florida.

Well, that�s just great. Why didn�t he have his car stored somewhere then? He�s parked in the ONLY handicapped spot in the parking lot.

The others, they had no idea who they were, so they put tow stickers on one of them. I guess, after at least four days, the owners of the vehicles noticed the tow stickers and decided to finally move their car. It had been at least three months since the thing had been started. How do I know this? It didn�t move in the entirety of the time that I have lived there. Of course, they didn�t speak English. Of course they just moved the car to a new space. Of course, it hasn�t moved since then.

What is the point of having a car if you�re not going to drive it�ever?

While we�re on the subject of cars�.

�I was talking with a friend/coworker the other day who is the same age as I am. He told me that he was considering buying a brand new corvette when the payments are finished on his current car. I was slightly taken aback when he mentioned that he thought that the payments, including insurance, would work out to be around $800+ a month. That�s more than I pay in rent!

I asked him why he wasn�t considering, instead, the idea of moving out of his parents� house. He replied that he didn�t plan on moving for at least two more years.

Now, I�m slightly biased against living the �rents� house, especially after the experiences I�ve had with it, but damn! I couldn�t imagine spending another two years living with my parents when I had a steady job. My mother was itching to get me out, almost as much as I wanted to leave myself.

His parents, I guess, are different and enjoy having him around. He does have it good. I mean, their house is obviously close to work, they cook his meals, he gets to save money, etc. However, as good as those incentives are, I still don�t think I would have done it had I had a stable homelife. There�s something very good about being on your own, even if you don�t have as much money, and you have to devote some time to cooking your own meals. I like the concept of being alone in my place without anyone ever around. It was very hard for me to get some alone time in my mother�s house, being as they never really went anywhere. I wasn�t allowed to do much of anything in the house, and my mother was very controlling. I�m much more relaxed now that I no longer have to deal with that.

Although, I prefer my own situation, I find nothing wrong with his choice. I am noticing, however, that the generation gap between the baby-boomers who typically have stay-at-home mothers, and my generation, in which usually both men and women work has produced some rather dire consequences. I know a lot of people who don�t know how to cook, can barely clean, and who don�t have the slightest when it comes to being responsible with bills. A lot of people I know, myself included, got accustomed to a lifestyle that allowed for more extravagant spending; with the result that when they started working on their own, they spent themselves into credit card debt.

The problem, I think, is that too many of the baby-boomer generation allowed their children to remain spoiled and taken care of, to the point where many of them have no idea how to do anything�nor do they strive to work as hard as their parents did.

The result of this is the third generation, the kids/teens growing up today. And I don�t know about you, but I think they�re pretty damn spoiled and bratty.

Where did the concept of respect get lost?

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral