Thursday, Aug. 08, 2002 10:46 a.m.

I just had, I think, one of the most confusing conversations with my mother.

As usual, you�re going to need some background information.

I was perusing Monstertrak.com for a job on campus in the fall. I only wanna work like 10 hours a week and I don�t care if I only get something like $6.15 an hour. That�d be $60 a week, which is good enough for me. It�ll make me more efficient, give me some spare cash, and also prevent me from having time to spend my back account into oblivion.

Well, I found this job that only called for 6 to 12 hours a week working with the ISS (Integrated Social Sciences) department. I�d have to proctor exams, copy, and file things. Well, the position requires that you already complete your 300 level ISS requirement. I have never taken an ISS class. The honors college at MSU lets me substitute other classes in place of the university requirements. So instead of ISS, I applied one of my AP US History classes and Philosophy 200.

I called up the woman listed as the contact for the job. Apparently she was not satisfied with the Honors College�s ruling that I was completed.

�You never took a 300 level ISS class.�

�Well, I substituted classes with the Honors College.�

�But they weren�t 300 level.�

Yeah, that�s an interesting point that started to worry me. I�ve had my credits checked about five times to make sure I�m graduating, but I never actually thought to double check that one area. So I called the Honors College.

No one was in.

So I emailed the Honors College.

I got a reply back today saying to check my APP (Academic Progress Plan) which is required by all Honors College members. My Honors College advisor said that I had indeed finished my general education requirements and I was set.

Alright, so what�s the problem?

I called up my mom because she�s so over involved in everything I do and needed to know as soon as I knew regarding my graduation.

�Why wouldn�t they give you the job?�

�Well, they don�t think that I�ve completed my ISS requirement and since part of the job is proctoring exams, they don�t want me to have access to the exams if I�ll later be taking the class.�

�But you�re a senior��

�You�ve never heard those horror stories about seniors who find out they still have one class left?�

�Well, I guess if you do, you could do what you�re doing now�you could just finish the class here at Oakland and transfer it up.�

�But how would I work? I wouldn�t have my degree.�

�They�d let you work.�

�They�d have no proof that I was finished. What if I repeatedly failed the class?�

�Well, I don�t know what you�re going to do. You�re not living in my house, not working, and taking only one class.�

�Mom, what the hell are you talking about? Why are already telling me what will happen in a situation that is most definitely not going to happen? They already told me that I finished my requirements. I was just telling you why the ISS department wouldn�t give me the job.�

�Don�t be nasty to me. I�m busy here at work. Goodbye.�

Yes, that�s right, she hung up on me for preventing an argument about something that�s never going to happen.

That�s my mom for you, she has to have a �what if that doesn�t work� plan even in situations where it�s not even possible.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral