Saturday, Aug. 17, 2002 8:16 p.m.

Just as a warning, this one is a long one��

Oh, I never though I�d say this, but I drank too much.

Last night was the big night: K, the Sorceress� 21st birthday. Of course, I had a lot going on in the beginning of the day before the festivities were going to start. Luckily, I had decided not to work that day, giving me adequate time to study. I slept in, spent a few hours rereading the chapters and playing with Bandit, then I realized that since I was going to go straight from my final to K�s house, I�d have to get ready.

Thus began the fun process of trying to get ready and study at the same time.

The drain, in the bathroom, decided to choose that moment to stop working and my mother was calling every five minutes from work to see if my stepfather�s mother�s jewelry had arrived.

I can�t remember if I mentioned that she passed away on Saturday�.oh yeah, I did�in the entry about Trouble not eating.

Well, anyway, for reasons unbeknownst to me, my stepfather decided to send the jewelry by mail and supposedly it was going to arrive on Friday afternoon sometime. Fate had it worked out so that I would decide to not work and relieve my mother�s mind about the ten grand worth of jewelry arriving at our house with no one home.

Unfortunately, it never arrived. Hopefully it wasn�t lost in the mail.

Anyway, I decided to wear my ultra low-rise jeans, my new peasant shirt, my new belt, and a bra tank that I�d bought on Thursday for the shindig. We were planning on seeing one of Kat�s friend�s bands play at some bar in Detroit.

The bra tank was quite an adventure. I picked up one of the larger sizes because of my shoulders and height. Well, since I was not blessed with a wonderfully large chest, the bra portion of the top�.well�it gave me big fake boobies. It was pretty funny, and I made it a joke for the night, so it was all good.

I went over to my final, rushed through it in 45 minutes, and called K as soon as I got out.

No answer.

I called her cell phone.

No answer.

Hmmm�.this is not good, I thought.

I called her friend dj-kittychan to see what was going on. It turned out that K was out to dinner with her parents and should be home around 9 for us to all get there. I also asked her what she got K for her birthday.

�Oh, a stuffed Stitch animal from Lilo and Stitch,� among a few other things.

Dammit! That was exactly what I had gotten her!

Well, being as it was only 7:30 and K wasn�t going to be home for at least an hour and a half, I had plenty of time to go to Great Lakes Crossing and find a new present. I parked and ran over to the Sanrio store and picked out some things that I prayed that she�d like, but found that I still had time to kill.

Being as that we were going to the bar, and more than likely I was going to drink, I decided that eating at only 11:00 am that day wasn�t going to work. I went over to the food court and picked up a small salad to fill my stomach. Again, I still had time to kill.

I tried calling K again and finally caught her. She was at dinner and reiterated to me that she was not going to be finished until about 9:00. I gave up and went over to Gameworks to see if some of my classmates were working. I ended up not finding anyone and I was about to head over to A, the ex before D�s place, since it was right across the street, when a cute bartender waved me over. I sat down and ordered a Heineken to kill time. The bartender and I talked for a bit, until I finished my beer, and I realized it was time to go.

K, coincidentally, called me just as I was walking out of the mall.

She told me that she had a nice dinner and her uncle bought her an apple pucker shot. I was surprised that she wasn�t already buzzing considering her body weight. I told her that I�d be over there shortly and she said that dj-kittychan would be over shortly, as well, to pick us up.

We took a couple of pictures, when I arrived and I gave her her present. I think she liked it, but you can never be sure with K. She might have been just being polite. Soon we all piled into dj-kitty�s car and we were on our way to Alvyns in Detroit. K told me that R, the Life Floater might be joining us later as well as a couple of her other friends.

�What about Adobo?� I asked. Both K and Kitty kinda just shrugged their shoulders and said, �We�ll see if she shows up.�

Apparently, she has a record of not showing up when invited places. I could see that it really seemed to irk K, but I really didn�t want to add to any negativity, so I just dropped it.

The ride went very smoothly while we had some fun conversations. The bar was also not very loud nor crowded when we arrived. Kitty and I decided to get K a drink. She agreed to a fuzzy navel, because she loves all those fruity, non-alcoholic tasting drinks. Soon, K�s older brother C showed up with a couple of his friends. We were having a grand old time joking, talking, and teasing K into drinking more.

Here is a summary of the drinks K had that night: Fuzzy Navel, Kamikaze, Jagerbomb, Pineapple juice and Malibu Rum, City Club Original, Sex Candy shot, Long Island Iced Tea, Vodka and Cranberry Juice, and I think there were a couple of others in there.

This is what I drank: 3 Heinekens, 2 Whisky and Sours, Gin and Tonic, actually, that�s all I can remember. I swear that I bought more than that though.

Anyway, the point I was making was that K stayed on par with me and I outweigh her by at least 50 lbs. That was utterly amazing. I wasn�t expecting K to get drunk because she always seemed so�..against losing control. I hate to sound so evil, but it was nice to see her fall down on the same level as me. Not that there�s anything wrong with occasionally getting drunk; especially on your 21st birthday, but I just felt so much closer to her. This is strange to say, but I�ve held K on this pedestal since we met. She�s always stood by my side and never judged me, even when she knew that I was making stupid mistakes or behaving badly or just wrong. She�s always been on my side. I have always seen her as this glowing view of virginal perfection, and frankly, it was nice to see her get down and dirty�.to act silly. I felt so much closer to her because I was there. Now, I know this isn�t the first time that she�s been�.intoxicated, but it was the first time that I was there for and it was special.

Anyway, R ended up showing up just as K�s friend�s band finished. I felt badly because he didn�t know that there would be a cover and he really doesn�t have the money that we do. I was really happy that he showed up and I could see that it really meant something to K that he was there. C, K�s brother, suggested that we go someplace else, suggesting City Club, this place down the street.

Now, I am a complete na�ve child about the clubs in Detroit, but I was never expecting this. After we stopped for some more money, we parked and C reminded us.

�Do not bring cell phones, you�ll have to check them. Don�t bring in anything that would resemble a weapon��

�Can I bring my compact?�

He laughed when I showed him my Clinique compact.

�You won�t need it, trust me.�

We got inside and K ordered her first drink for the night (the whole night we�d been ordering them and paying for them for her).

�Can I have something fruity? I don�t care what.�

Alrighty then. The bartender made her that City Club Original and she gave K her change.

�Don�t forget to tip her,� C explained. She waved out the money.

�No, just put it down on the bar,� he said.

�Well I don�t know what I�m doing!� she exclaimed.

Ha, no one really knows what they�re doing the first time they go to a bar and order a drink for themselves. I was once the same way.

We decided to go dancing and I could see why C would say that I wouldn�t need my compact. It was so dark in there that it was hard to see anyone else. Kitty and I convinced K to dance and it was so unreal. All of the �freaks� (as in Goths) that were at this club were all dancing and swaying to the oddly soothing techno music playing. I had forgotten that I, too, was once goth. I felt a little out of place in my �trendy� outfit, but I tried my best to not stick out. I went into the bathroom and complimented a girl on her corset.

�Well thank you.�

�I feel so out of place here.�

�Is it your first time here?�

�Yeah.�

�Well, that�s why. Don�t worry, no one really cares what you�re wearing.�

She was right. I didn�t care what they were wearing; I was just there for a good time, we all were. We tired of dancing after like an hour and decided to sit down and talk for awhile. I hadn�t realized that C�s friends were a married couple. We talked about their wedding and what they do. I was shocked to realize that C and his friends were 30 years old! They hardly looked it at all. I also talked with K for awhile, asking her if she was going to take the extra year to graduate or finish this coming up year, like me.

�I think I�m going to take the extra year.�

�Well, good, that way you can move in with me for a year.�

�Yeah, I really hope I can.�

I hope it works out too.

K was really toasted at this point. She was laughing and talking a lot and very loudly. It was pretty cute. She was about at the point where she started saying, �I loooooooove you guys.�

A guy walked by and asked if I would dance with him. I told him that I didn�t really feel like it because I was with my friend on her 21st birthday. He said just to bring her too. I said that her brother wouldn�t be a big fan of that.

C was impressed that he managed to scare someone off with his presence. We all laughed about it and C�s female friend Jen said that she�d noticed several guys checking me out.

Well hey now! I hadn�t even noticed! Plus, I assumed that since I was so out of place that no one would really be interested anyway. I wasn�t really interested in meeting anyone, I just wanted to hang around K, Kitty, R, C, and his friends and have a good time.

But it always feels good to be checked out, heh.

I told everyone that I was getting tired around 2:30 and that I was a bit too drunk anyway. We decided to go back to C�s place. On the way back, we called Adobo on my phone so that we could tell her how drunk K was and what she was missing out on. K was still pissed off, but in that drunk way.

�Oh it�s ok�well you�re going to owe me, Kitty, and J three rounds the next time we go out!� she said into the phone. It was positively hilarious. I took the phone back and read off a list of what K had drank, saying that she�d probably outdrank me. Adobo laughed and we let her get back to sleep.

We all went back to C�s house, minus Jen, and hung out for awhile. We played video games and drank even more still. I almost instantly fell asleep.

It was a good night. That was even more fun than my 21st birthday. It was seriously one of the best times I�ve had all summer.

The morning wasn�t as pretty. I woke up very hung over. I obviously had not drank as much water the night before as I should have. K was surprisingly chipper. We said goodbye to C, thanked him, and drove home.

The car ride was not agreeing with me. I still managed to make it back to my house before throwing up. Thankfully my mother wasn�t there to chide me. It was also pretty stupid of me to only have eaten that small salad before going out. Oh well.

I tried to drink water, but I threw up.

I tried to eat yogurt, but I threw up.

I tried drinking orange juice, but I threw up.

I knew that at this point I was getting even more dehydrated than I had been before, so I gave up on trying to force some water down my throat and went to sleep on the chair because my bed was a mess.

A couple hours later my mom comes home. Now, I am supposed to be cleaning and packing at this point. I hadn�t moved in like four hours. She wasn�t mad, surprisingly. She said that she thought she had a heart attack, and she meant it literally. I guess she�d had shooting pains down her arm and trouble breathing.

That really scares me.

I know that she needs to take better care of herself, but that�s really a disturbing and scary thought. I guess she�s ok now, but she went to lie down.

And Trouble decided to start throwing up again. It was like he was mimicking me. I hope he�s gonna be ok =[

So after awhile, I got up and ate some chicken soup. Luckily that dizzying feeling was gone and I was able to keep it down. I also managed to keep down some juice and other things. I�m feeling quite a bit better actually.

I�m just not going to go out and not eat first next time, heh.

I got a bit of stuff done, like cleaning out my microwave, coffee pot, and my car. I guess I�ll have to work double time tomorrow and Monday.

I knew there was a reason I chose to move in on Tuesday instead of Monday.

Oh, yeah, on another note�.

Someone I went to high school with had a comment on my reunion at the mall entry. When you have an online journal, you have to be very sure about what you�re going to say before hand, so that you don�t upset people who are involved or say something that comes off incorrectly. I have actually known for a long time that this person has been reading my diary, because I have a stats checker, as you all should know.

As another side note on that subject, if you didn�t know that I�m watching, well I am. If you don�t want me to know you�re reading then you�ll either have to stop or you�ll have to get an IP blocker, so I can�t see your host and IP information.

Anyway, I know that she doesn�t care that I know because she knows that I read her diary, probably the same way that I know about her.

I read her journal once in awhile when I�m bored at work. I have no malice or bad feelings toward the person, nothing at all really. I just like reading diaries, it�s like an addiction almost. I have read the online diaries of a lot of people I don�t really talk to anymore. It�s just like I said, sometimes you�re just curious about the people you used to know. I�m sure that�s the same reason that she reads mine on occasion.

Anyway, she had the comment: �J, you are demeaning in your journal towards [his name was here, she is referring to the ex I ran into at the mall], like it would be so hard to guess who you were talking about. I doubt he sounded that stupid�

Most of you have probably noticed that I don�t use anyone�s real names in here. I don�t think I know a whole lot of people who do use people�s real names. I like to use people�s initials and a quality about them that I think fits as their name, but only if they appear in multiple entries. If a person only appears in one or two entries, I just refer to them in passing as a �person� or as their first initial. I do it because I respect that people want their privacy, it�s not that I�m hiding anything. Most of the people who are featured in my diary know what their name is and who the other people are. It�s for the passing stranger that reads my diary that I do this.

Anyway, that being said, on with the comment. I realize that this person is just trying to defend her friend, but she�s not going to bait me into some ridiculous diary argument. I have better things to do with my time. Quite simply, I was there and she wasn�t. I think I�d have a more accurate picture of what happened. If he, himself, feels that he was insulted, then I apologize to him, but I don�t regret posting it.

As I said earlier, when you have an online journal, you have to realize that you�re going to hurt people�s feelings sometimes, so you have to be sure about something before you write it. And I have rarely ever regretted anything that I�ve said on here and this time is no exception.

Actually, I think it�s funny that she got so worked up over it, but like I said, she was probably just defending her friend.

And to wrap things up, if anyone out there actually has a comment for any of my entries, well gosh darnit, I wanna hear it! Please feel free to post in my Guestbook or in the notes section at the bottom of my page.

This has been very long winded, and I�m sorry, but I�m done now.

Ciao kids.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral