Monday, Jun. 03, 2002 2:31 p.m.

The Bonesetter�s Daughter

Amy Tan

Fiction



I really enjoyed The Joy Luck Club and The Hundred Secret Senses, both written by Tan. I was expecting the same kind of shocking, family oriented novel. The Bonesetter�s Daughter does follow Tan�s traditional mother-daughter conflict which is resolved when the daughter learns of her mother�s past in China. The same happens in this novel. However, I did not feel the closure that I had felt in the other two books that I had read of Tan�s. The mother�s story is, of course, filled with touching tragedy and hardship but I do not see the character development of the daughter when she achieves understanding of her mother. I did enjoy the book, if not only for the plot.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral