Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 5:58 p.m.

Oh bloody hell.

I guess that my stepfather�s father (my step-grandfather) is in the hospital.

Well, amend that.

I knew he was in the hospital. He had fallen like a week ago and really injured his back. Apparently, he�s been in a lot of pain, but they figured that he would recover decently (as decently as an 86 year old would recover).

However�

�there has been a snag.

I guess he�s been put into intensive care for congestive lung failure (or was it heart failure???) and although they assume he will recover, the doctors cannot guarantee it.

Now, my question is�.why the hell hasn�t my stepfather hopped on a plane yet?

My mother posed the same question to him. Apparently, my stepfather won�t go until his brother goes, and that won�t be until his brother gets into the dentist. Dentists aren�t in their offices very much out in Alaska, so we�re looking at a week at least.

I understand that my stepfather has been under a lot of stress lately, but why the dependency on his brother? His father needs him now, so book the tickets now.

Add this in to other recent events and you have my mother�in a tizzy. I guess she thinks it would be wise for my stepfather to leave right away, not only for his father�s sake, but also because the plane ticket will be cheaper. He could even wait the week for his brother, but she wants him to book the tickets now.

Can you blame her?

I mean, money is scarily tight around here right now. In fact, I feel guilty for doing so well and not paying rent. I�ve offered, but she prefers me to save my money for my house (so I can get out faster). This reminds me of when my parents were divorcing and my mother was laid off from GM�..we had virtually no money then too.

[sighs]

So, she went off on me the moment I walked in the door about how my stepfather is going to waste at least three hundred dollars to wait until the last minute to book a flight. Of course, there�s nothing we can do. We can�t make him book in advance. Hell, I feel bad enough with all the horrible crap happening to him.

My mother will, eventually, calm down and go back to her normal routine of being compassionate and kind, but damn�I�m glad I�m not going to be in tonight.

Speaking of which�.

�I�m meeting people whom I�ve never met before.

I�m meeting people that I�ve communicated with on a message board for the past year. I�ve done this stuff before, and hopefully this time won�t involve me ending up a statistic, heh.

I�m sure that no one would be that stupid as to try and attack anyone in such a public place, but the only thing that concerns me is that we�re meeting in a bar and sometimes guys get a little over-zealous in bars.

Not that I haven�t �taken care� of situations like that before. LOL

Anyway, if y�all don�t hear from me�..well�relatively soon, look for my �missing person� photo on the news. =O

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral