Tuesday, Jul. 02, 2002 1:42 p.m.

Ah the joys of working�..

Our boss is mysteriously missing again and I�m assuming that he�s gonna show up at like 230 in the afternoon at the exact moment I�m making plans to ditch early. He always does that. One week, he flew in from Europe and showed up (after taking the week off) on Friday at 2:30 in the afternoon. I was absolutely ready to cry.

Since our last �status update� meeting, he has not assigned us anything more to do, but emphasizes that we aren�t really to work for other people. Right now, I�m reading a huge-ass book on C programming to try (and inevitably fail) to get my task done. Oh sweet Lord I can�t wait to move back to school.

My mom talked to my dad about my doctor�s bills to see if he was paying them with the checks his insurance company was supplying him with. Apparently, he actually has taken some initiative and started paying the bills on his own. He emphasized the point that he is not talking to me to my mother though.

How sad is that?

Seriously?

I haven�t spoken to my father in over a month and he�s actively pursuing his obstinate behavior. Well, that�s just fine�lol�I have plenty of things going on that I have to take care of before summer is up. For those of you who know me best, you all know that this is not strange behavior of my father. Every summer since her married my evil witch of a stepmother (and later divorced her) he has ditched me so that he can spend the entire summer with his newest girlfriend or his mother. Every summer I get angry at his desertion and promise that I�ll get my revenge, and by the time fall hits I�ve already forgiven him.

Screw that.

He�s already proven many many times that he doesn�t need me as a daughter, that he�s a fair-weather dad. That hasn�t changed. What has changed is my attitude: I just don�t care anymore. I�m not angry, not disappointed, not vengeful; simply resigned at accepting that he�s just not really there for me.

That�s it.

I am still a little amazed that his only child was in a car accident to warrant the purchase of a new car and multiple doctors� visits and he has not even asked once if I was ok.

I can live with this: I�ve already had a pretty decent and full first half of summer (though slightly boring at times).

There should be a movie made about me and my fellow interns, kinda like Office Space. It�s so funny the lengths that we go to avoid our boss. I should write a little mini-screenplay, but I�ll save it for another boring day. Today I�m counting down the hours until I can go home and just sit�..I don�t care what I do as long as I get to rest for a few. I never realized that working and going to class right after could be so tiring when you don�t do any physical labor. I was so dead tired by the half period of class that I didn�t pay attention to the last half hour of lecture.

Wow this was a boring entry�.heh�what can I say? Boring life == boring entry.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral