Wednesday, Sept. 08, 2004 9:49 a.m.

Dangit, I accidentally shut down word before pasting in my entry to diaryland.

I guess I have to start over.

Yesterday was a fun day for me. I physically bear the scars of how crappy a runner I am. For the past week or so, I�ve been running outside instead of on a treadmill to help prepare me for entering triathlons next season. And boy do I ever need the practice, apparently.

The loop that I run is a rectangle around the neighborhood of about��2.3 miles, I think. I have to run it very very slowly because I can�t control my breathing as of yet [which is why I hate cardio in general]. I got some advice from a friend about how to breathe properly, and B was out riding his bike at Stony Creek [or so I thought�damn Fantasy Football drafts�], so I decided to give it another shot.

Well, yesterday was �everyone let�s go for a walk� day or something. People were everywhere, and they were all hogging the sidewalks. At one point, I passed by this woman who was walking to the side of her baby stroller, taking up the whole sidewalk. Then she gave me a dirty look when I went on the grass to go around her.

On the last quarter of my journey, I spied a kid of about 15 walking toward me on the sidewalk. I went over to one side of the sidewalk, he followed. I went over to the other side of the sidewalk, he followed again. I tried to go up on the grass, but as he was walking by, he shoved me, tried to knock me over, and then tried to take my MP3 player.

I, of course, screamed bloody murder and kicked the kid, hard. I mean, it�s broad freakin daylight. Just as I screamed, the cops drove by.

What a coincidence, the cops were around when a crime was being committed.

They put the kid in the back of their car and rebuked me for not having my ID on me.

Yeah, I�ll just stuff it into my sports bra next time.

Yesterday was a busy, busy day.

Busy, it�s a relative term, isn�t it? One person�s �busy� may be another person�s �lazy� which brings me to my next point.

On Monday, when I was trying to clean up the basement, I slipped a CD into my computer to play it on both my computer speakers, as well as my stereo speakers, which is how I normally have my computer set up. Now, the person who built my computer seems to either think that 1) he should be invaluable to me and therefore doesn�t properly configure my computer to things that he KNOWS that I will use or 2) likes to screw around with me.

I sent him an IM at 2 pm on Monday telling him of the problem. I went about my business and waited for an answer.

And waited�

And waited�

At around 12:30 am, according to the timestamp on my IM, he answered me, asking if I�d had this problem before.

I�m a normal person and I work normal hours. I�m not going to be up at 12:30 am the night before I have to go to work. Some people can live without sleep, but I can�t, and he knows this. So it really looks like that whole oh-I-didn�t-see-what-time-it-really-was act is a bunch of BS to me. I answered him when I got up in the morning and waited for a response�

And waited�

And waited�

At around 11 pm, I wrote him an IM saying that I was pretty mad that he couldn�t get back to me at a reasonable time about something that should take about 10 minutes to fix, and that I shouldn�t even be having a problem with this anyway.

His response, conveniently after I had already headed to bed, was that he was sorry, he had been busy, things were hectic/shitty, etc.

I�m sorry, did I interrupt your 12 hours of sleep a night?

Working 4 hours on Monday is not busy. Working a total of 12 hours on the weekend is not busy. Visiting like 6-8 stores as part of your job is not busy.

Busy is when you get up, go to work for 10 hours [lunch isn�t included!], drive home in traffic, scarf down a snack, go for a quick run, only to be interrupted by a mugger. Then you get home, rest for about ten minutes, stretch, and go downstairs to fold laundry and start another load. Then you come back upstairs and do dishes for about an hour. Then you get to make yourself something to eat, eat for about 20 minutes, then clean up the kitchen again. Then you go back downstairs, do some more folding and laundry, come back upstairs, take a quick shower, and have maybe a half hour to an hour before you have to go to bed.

Busy is when you work full time [plus overtime!] and attend grad school in the evenings.

Busy is when you work full time and attend law school four days a week.

Busy is when you are a full time student, plus homework, and you work part time, commute an hour each way to school, find time to eat and work out, etc.

Busy is when you�re a medical student.

Busy is when you�re a single mom, supporting 3 lazy, ungrateful kids.

Busy is NOT waking up at a leisurely hour, putzing around on the internet for a few hours, running personal errands, coming home, putzing around some more, and then emptying the dishwasher and asking your mother what she�s cooking for dinner.

That�s not busy. And you don�t piss off loyal customers who have been plugging your services to other people so you can make some money.

Busy my ass.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral