Monday, Jul. 01, 2002 12:59 p.m.

Take my survey!

Ah, today is just another one of those wonderfully boring days at work. My head is pounding and I�m quite listless, but yet this day will never end. I have been given the ultimate in impossible work assignments.

I guess you�ll need background.

First of all, I�m majoring in Electrical Engineering. I�m still somewhat unsure of what exactly an electrical engineer does because my internship here has not been very helpful with the whole teaching process. My skills from school are limited because of the lack of practical knowledge taught�it�s basically all theoretical. Actually, in school they advise you to get internships for practical knowledge. It was just my luck to get an internship that gives me no practical knowledge.

I was asked by my boss to take one program and simulate it in another program by altering the source code. This source code is written in C. I am not a computer science major or computer programmer. How exactly am I supposed to do this graduate level work in some language that I�ve never even used? I�ve told him repeatedly that it�s not a good idea to rely on me as the sole person on this particular task, but it never seems to get through. I hate disappointing people and looking stupid. I hate looking back and realizing that I didn�t really accomplish anything. It�s not fair that I�m given these tasks out of my capabilities and then basically looked upon as useless when I cannot complete it.

The truth is I don�t think I�ll be getting a job offer from here. Everyone knows that I�m useless and no one has given me the chance to really do a great job on something that would break me through the image that I�ve been given.

I think I�m gonna cry with how depressing that is.

On another note, the weekend was pretty uneventful. I saw Minority Report on Friday with K, the Sorceress. The movie was somewhat confusing. I�d have to see it again to fully follow the plot, but it was enjoyable. The rest of the weekend was filled with me squabbling with my mother about my class.

She doesn�t want me to go to the Jewel concert that I agreed to go to with K on Wednesday because I will be missing class. So the hell what? I�ve explained and reexplained that my grade doesn�t even transfer but that all I have to get is a 2.0. For some odd reason with the years upon years of A�s that I�ve gotten, she doesn�t think it�s possible for me to get a 2.0 and not go to class.

If only she knew how little I went to class at school�

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral