Thursday, Nov. 21, 2002 2:52 p.m.

Oh dear oh dear oh dear.

Humanity has again reached a peak in stupidity.

What am I rambling about this time? Please, be my guest, check this out.

If you don�t want to read it, I�ll give you a summary.

The article says that only 13% of American 18-24 year old�s can find Iraq on a map.

Yes, that�s right kids, 87% of my age group in one of the most privileged countries in the world, does not know where the source of all the major international controversy is located. What�s worse is that despite the events that happened something like a year and three months ago, only 17% of young Americans could find Afghanistan.

The other countries of the world dislike us for various reasons: arrogance, stupidity, sticking our noses where it doesn�t belong�..but we�..we can�t even find these countries on a map. Who can argue American involvement in the Middle East and not actually know where that is? Well, gee golly, Americans can!

It�s no wonder why other countries hate us.

Moving on�.

I remember when I was younger, I prided myself on my stance on religion�most notably my stance against it. For those of you who have been following my diary in the past year, you may have noticed a change toward believing in a higher power, a change toward faith. I have found myself extremely intrigued by the history of the Bible, the logical arguments for Jesus� existence as the son of God, and also by the Apocalypse. Actually, I believe that it was that serious of books on the end-times that drew me in.

Anyway, it�s been quite a struggle to reconcile my scientific mind with the existence of a higher power, as well as issues that I believe in. It�s hard to fight for a woman�s absolute right over her body when you, yourself, can�t actually be certain when the soul comes into play.

I was watching ER on TNT this morning (since I like the older episodes). The episode featured a Down�s syndrome woman who needed a heart transplant. Coincidentally, I also started reading Dreamcatcher by Stephen King recently, which also features a Down�s syndrome man. Down�s syndrome is caused by trisomy 21 (if I got this wrong, god help me�.I�m really going to need help with my genetics exam). That means that the (disease? Illness?) syndrome is caused by an individual with three copies of chromosome number 21. The phenotype (external display) of the disease can vary (i.e. varying degrees of physical characteristics and mental retardation). Now, I have a completely stupid question (and since this is my diary, I can ask it)�..

�.is it possible to have a mentally �retarded� soul?

I�m serious. Please don�t laugh or take offense.

The characteristics of Down�s syndrome are caused by a genetic defect. Does that mean that the soul of the person with Down�s syndrome is perfectly normal, just limited by the genetics involved in development?

I�m not sure I�m actually explaining myself all that clearly because it made sense to me this morning, and I just thought of a counterargument. Blech�

I think I answered my own question�now that I think about it. It�s not like a quadriplegic�s soul would have no arms or legs�or actually, do souls even take human form?

Aiya, I�ve just overloaded myself on theological questions.

Anyway, I guess I�m gonna head to the gym. If you�d like to comment on my strange rambling, please check out my guestbook or comment at the bottom of the page.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral