Tuesday, Jun. 25, 2002 12:09 a.m.

The fears are starting to come down on me. There is so much to worry about. I didn�t think about it at the time but since tuition increased and I only get so much in loan money, someone is going to have to pay the difference. My mother is already assuming the responsibility but she keeps resounding doubts about the reliability of my father paying my apartment money very close to the surface.

Enough of that for now; it is a situation that is very obviously out of my hands.

Now it is time for the recap of Cedar Point.

It was a surprisingly easy drive, not seeming to take at all the three hours that it was supposed to. It was sunny, contradicting the report that it was going to thunderstorm. P, the Conqueror, and I chit chatted easily, and the worries of the previous days seemed to fall away. We pulled into the relatively empty parking lot and I opened the door.

�Oh�.my�.lord�� I said aloud. The humidity seemed to have reached the saturation point and beads of sweat instantly formed on my forehead. Before even stepping out of the car I took out my bottle of trusty 45 sunblock and slathered it everywhere. I picked up the tickets for the park and lunch tickets and we were on our way.

I was surprised at the amount of people that showed up for our company picnic. I talked a bit with a few while P and I enjoyed our free lunch. After, we decided to put our bathing suits in a locker and start for the lines for the rides. Our first visit was the Raptor with a half hour wait.

Background info: Cedar Point is a very crowded amusement park with a combination of family rides as well as thrill rides and a water park. The lines are usually long, the people are usually hot and irritated, and a 20 oz. bottle of soda costs $3. To control the long long long lines, there are myriads of mazes of chained and barred lines for everyone to walk and stop in like lemmings. Very obviously, sometimes the entire metal maze does not fill up. Well, instead of taking the chains off a few of the rows so it was not necessary to walk through them all, the dumbass employees in charge of the Raptor left them up. By the time P and I were in line, instead of walking through at least a dozen of back and forth rows, everyone was just going over or under the chains. So�.when in Rome�.

Well, apparently, a 20 something girl that was with her boyfriend and was originally in line in front of the group that was in front of us, decided that she was going to go through each of the rows. The group in front of us politely waited for her, but her boyfriend gave up and decided to hop the chains like the rest of us and waved us ahead. So, everything was going as usual as we edged closer and closer to the front. The girl was chatting with her boyfriend about �tattling� about something, I was not really paying attention. Then she pulled aside an employee and talked with him for a few minutes. As the line was coming toward the home stretch, the employee called out to a girl in a white shirt that was about 20 people in front of us and said that the people from her to me (who was right in front of the girl who complained) would have to go back to the end of the line.

Hahahahahahahaha

That was exactly what I did. Everyone reacted chaotically wondering exactly what the problem was. Apparently, going over the chains even though we were not �cutting� in front of anyone else was considered �line-jumping�. Then the girl decided that her pathetic input was needed.

�I used to work here so I play by the rules.�

Again, I started laughing. I�m sorry, I just can�t take someone seriously who acts like she�s got a bug up her ass. If she wanted her original place in line back, I would have been happy to relent, as I�m sure so would everyone else. Instead, she decided to wait until everyone got to the front of the line to squeal; how is that playing by the rules? Also, her boyfriend was part of the �line-jumping� so if she was willing to have him ejected to the back of the line and she would ride the ride herself, I�d believe that she �played by the rules�.

The employee walked up to me and tried to implore me to �do the right thing.� I told him that unless he physically removed me from the line, I wasn�t going anywhere. Did he witness the alleged �line jumping�? No. Was the former employee�s word more valuable than mine as a paying patron? No. What if she was just making up the story just to move her place up in the line? The employee had no answers to these questions and the other 20 people were saying pretty much the same thing, so no one moved. So instead, the former employee shoved me aside with a rude, �Excuse me,� and moved to the front.

Now, in all seriousness, this was 20 people, not 200. The Raptor seats at least 20 so it�s not like she was set back by 20 minutes by the people hopping the chain. In fact, her boyfriend had waved us all on. Also, most people, though hot, are reasonable and would have conceded giving her back her original spot; there was no reason to get her panties in such a twist. What a bitch, seriously.

That was my experience with the first rude person in Ohio.

We went on a couple more rides including the new rollercoaster, Wicked Twister, which resembles more the pirate ship from hell instead of a rollercoaster. It goes back and forth like a roller coaster, only multiply the speed and height by 10 and add twists and dangling legs to it. It was a pretty decent ride, but not a rollercoaster.

Anyway, P and I decided that we were hot enough to warrant our first visit to Soak City to go in the lazy river that I�d been dreaming about since we�d left last year. Just as we got to the entrance to Soak City, I noticed the dark clouds above and the nasty winds that were beginning to develop. He suggested that we sit down for a few minutes and observe the weather before forking over $23 for the day. His hunch was right; shortly after I heard thunder and a couple seconds after that lightning began streaking across the sky.

We started our walk back to the car and apparently everyone else had the same sentiment because it took about an hour to walk back to the car and actually exit the park. We went to the hotel and checked in, utilizing the hot tub and indoor pool. After another hour, we decided to get some wings at the near by Buffalo Wild Wings which was formerly known as BW3�s. The wings were the best that I�d ever had and I got to enjoy a couple of reasonably priced Long Island Iced Teas and a Bloody Mary. We went to the grocery store next door to pick up a couple of provisions in case we got hungry later and we went back to the room. We went back to the hot tub and then decided that the weather was too bad to return to Cedar Point. Instead we saw The Sum of All Fears at the theater that was right next to the hotel.

The movie was pretty good, but it was not the prequel that I was under the impression that it was. R, the Life Floater, had told me that it took place in the 80�s to cover for the Jack Ryan script rewriting. However, the dates in the movies correspond to 2001 and there are a couple of references to Bill Clinton/Monica Lewinsky, proving that it obviously was not set in the 80�s. So, The Sum of All Fears is pretty much the weirdest movie when it comes to being part of a series. Other than that, I really liked the movie, except for the physical and electronic impossibilities involving the nuclear explosion.

Well, there was a couple sitting behind us who decided that they were going to talk through the WHOLE MOVIE in almost normal voices. Every time I thought about turning around to snap, they suddenly quieted down, almost expecting it.

That was my second experience with rude people in Ohio.

After devouring the movie, P and I returned back to our hotel room to watch some pretty sweet police chase videos and a couple of really funny dating shows. Then I snuggled up in our king sized bed and fell into a sweet blissful slumber.

I�ll continue the rest of the trip at a later date.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral