Thursday, Jun. 27, 2002 1:29 p.m.

I don�t understand why, but this week has been hell on Earth trying to get my ass out of bed. It�s not like I�ve had a very exhausting week; I didn�t attend softball, I haven�t been exercising, and I�m not dead tired when I fall asleep. I just don�t seem to get it.

I�ve never usually had a sleeping problem for the past few years. Actually, before I started going to college, it would take me awhile after �going� to bed to fall asleep. Ever since my second semester at college, I�ve basically had no problem at all with falling asleep within the first ten minutes of laying my little head down on the pillow.

Last night was no exception.

I turned off my light around 11:15 and I was in such a heavy sleep by 11:57 when I got a text message from P, the Conqueror, that I didn�t hear the annoying beep of my phone. The first time I woke up was this morning at 5:15 when Bandit was crying to be let out and be fed with the other cats. He does this every morning, but the past couple days my mom has been letting him out so I don�t have to get up.

This morning she didn�t so I let him out and went back to sleep for the last hour. Suddenly, my alarm is blaring and I�m repeatedly hitting the snooze bar. I had the alarm set for 6:25 but I actually got up at 6:55.

That�s another weird thing: getting up before 9 used to be an ungodly thing for me to do. Now it�s not the getting up that I dread, but it�s instead the going to work part.

Anyway, my alarm goes off and it was again one of those days where I could not get my body to function. It felt as if I had gotten only three hours of sleep and run a marathon the previous day. It�s no joke, I felt the way that I�d felt during finals week when I�d stayed up all night studying. I couldn�t get my body to cooperate, I felt sick to my stomach and hungry, and my eyes were so droopy that I could barely see.

I got in the shower and contemplated calling in sick, but alas, I could really use the $100 a day that I make and I could see no real reason as to not going into work.

Well, other than the reason that I hate it.

I started my class last night. I wasn�t sure what to do because the class starts at 6:30 and I leave work at 4:30. With traffic, it takes me an hour to get home. That means that I�d get home at 5:30 giving me a little less than a half hour to eat and sit for awhile before hopping in the car and driving about 2 miles south of where I work.

So, I decided to find a place to hang out (heaven forbid I actually work late). The second I set foot in my car, it started to thunderstorm pretty heavily. The rain was coming down in sheets so I pulled into a parking lot and read The Bourne Supremacy for an hour before going to Great Lakes Crossing to get something to eat before class. At 6:00 I drove back to Oakland University and parked (I�d researched parking and the building location beforehand). I went into Hannah Hall of Science and found the room. I walked in to what seemed mid-lecture and froze when I stared at what I thought was the syllabus on the screen.

I was completely confused. The transparency was definitely not the syllabus and my fear that the class had actually started on Monday came through. The professor said to a group of students that had joined me in staring that the class that he was teaching was not physiology but instead anatomy. Physiology was located in some other room. The other students and I walked around and walked in on two other classes in session. The class was not located anywhere within our field of view. I sat down on the stairs as a couple of fellow visitor students from MSU started talking about how the class may be cancelled.

That would not make me happy. I need this particular class to fill a technical elective slot so that I can graduate. I really don�t wanna add another class to my already decent schedule that probably won�t fit because engineering has a tendancy to screw over its students.

About ten minutes after the class was supposed to start, a female professor walks into our group and asks why we�re not in the classroom. We explain and she, very obviously angry, walks into the other prof�s class to speak with him.

I was eagerly peering to see if a catfight ensued. They traded hostile remarks and she walked back out and announced that she was going to try and find us an empty classroom to be in.

I must say though, what the hell is a professor doing showing up ten minutes late to her own class on the first day?

We found the new classroom and in the process of walking over to the new building one of the girls was telling me that she�d recognized the prof. Apparently she was a horrible teacher and really hard. All this succeeded in doing was setting off the little frosh and sophomore girls in a little frenzy in which they all pulled out their cell phones and whined either to parents, friends, or boyfriends about how they were going to fail.

�Calm down, we�re just visitor students; we only need a 2.0 for it to transfer,� I tried reassuring them. They all looked at me like I was crazy telling them that we �only� needed a 2.0. A couple of them, complaining that they didn�t even need the class for their social work majors asked me what my major was.

�Electrical engineering.�

I heard about three little frosh gasps as they backed away slowly.

�What are you doing in this class?�

�I need a technical elective to graduate.�

�A what?�

�A non-engineering science class�..it�s really not going to be that bad: it almost seems interesting,� I tried again to reassure as the prof handed out the syllabi.

I heard one of the girls whining that she�d pay the professor if she had to for a good grade and the girl who had recognized the prof took off and left the class (I assume that she was dropping it).

The prof began her explanation of the course.

1) Attendance is not required (heheheheheh)

2) Our grade is based on 4 exams and there is no homework.

She really didn�t seem that bad. She explained as she started the material that since the class was so compacted that she would be letting us basically know exactly which diagrams and parts of chapters would be on the exam. I don�t understand why that one girl flipped out before she even started speaking and left.

The professor, herself, does seem to be a strange person. She would speak but then almost act as if she had forgotten what it was she was going to say, so she often has the �lost in thought� expression on her face. She also speaks very very slowly.

It felt really nice to not be in a strictly engineering class for once. Who knows? Maybe I will do well�.

By the way, I made a survey, so please take it.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral