Wednesday, Apr. 03, 2002 8:13 p.m.

Now I�ve been meaning to do something like this for awhile. It�s still a work in progress so please don�t in any way find yourself offended or anything and there are always exceptions to the rule�just remember that�.

I decided after enough imaginative painting that I�d finally put this on the written canvas�it is�.my criteria for men�.

Physical requirements:

(Please don�t assume me shallow for starting with these but they are the easiest to write)

I�m a tall girl so I appreciate a guy that I have to look up to, so I�m sorry to all ya short fellas out there, I prefer a guy who is at least 6 feet tall. Eyecolor is not an issue to me because I�ve found all shades of eyes that I�ve found very beautiful and intriguing (except of course scary ass vampire eyes). Whichever eye color he possesses, it should be a deep, rich color or special in some way. Hair color is also not an issue but I find that the eyes really stand out with dark hair bringing my attention to them. I prefer the physical build of a thin or average man. I don�t exactly see myself as a girl who fawns over muscles, but whichever build he is, the guy that I like is in shape. I am not usually a fan of facial hair either. I also hate to pull this card but at this point in my life, I�m not sure I want to get involved in the problems associated with interracial marriages.

So, in a nutshell, the physical characteristics are:

Tall, six feet at least.

Rich, deep, or unique eyes.

Dark hair.

Thin/average build but in shape.

No facial hair

Caucasian

Now, on to personality characteristics

I�d of course like a kind guy, one who likes to listen, and enjoys good conversation other than, �Hi honey, how was your day?� He, of course, has to be on the same intelligence level as me and it doesn�t matter if he is slight above or below my intelligence level as long as he�s not insecure or condescending about it. I want a guy who likes to be around people but sometimes would also prefer to be alone with me. He has to have a really good sense of humor, but not too sarcastic (I really don�t like those types of people). He has to be secure in most ways about himself, but of course has to possess a very strong sensitive side. I�d also like him to have some kind of artistic sense or creative side. He�d have to be spontaneous and like all sorts of surprises. I�d also like for him to be laid back, but still responsible. I want a guy who likes to read and keeps current on events in the world to further our debates.

A summary of the personality characteristics:

Kind

Likes to listen

Enjoys good, deep conversation

Same intelligence level as me

Likes to be around people (but not all the time)

Good sense of humor (but not too sarcastic)

Must be secure

Sensistive

Must possess artistic side

Spontaneous

Laid back (but still responsible).

Likes to read

Keeps current on world events

I think this category needed to be added based on the confusion I�ve had with previous boyfriends and even some friends.

On to the expectations

This is what I would expect out of a guy if he was my boyfriend or husband. These are only examples. I read recently how a friend of mine serenaded the girl that he was interested in and thus won her heart, I, too, would like that. Also I�ve always wanted to have my guy to decorate a room with different colored rope lights or Christmas lights to simulate a starry night and dance to slow songs with me. I love warm bubble baths, so I�m sorry guys, masculinity would have to be on hold because the guy that I want would want to enjoy a warm bubble bath with me. I�m pretty flexible on movies that I like, so I feel that we could alternate our movie picks but sometimes, we would have to see the ridiculous romantic comedy. I�d like to think that the guy that I was spending my life with would nurse me out of a sickness with love, chicken soup, and back massages. Regardless of being sick, I love being rubbed, so my guy would have to enjoy giving good back massages. I would hope that my guy would find me beautiful inside and out, and I�d like to be told that =P Hmmm�.what else..there are a billion different examples I could put here�.

A summary of hopeful expectations:

Sing me a song =D

Slow dancing

Bubble baths

Sometimes have to endure romantic comedies

Nurse sicknesses

Good masseur

Tells me I�m beautiful

Finally, I have a miscellaneous category�

I�d have to be with someone that would also be on the same economic level as me (er when I graduate) so I�m going to be seeking high paying professions (please don�t call me a gold digger). Sometimes, I like to get wild and party and I don�t want the guy that I�m with to hold me back or thing low of me for being drunk, so I�d expect some understanding. I also will not tolerate liars, cheaters, or cocky men and I�d expect that the guy that I�d be with would be able to apologize when he�s wrong. This is a strange card for me to play as well, but at this point in my life I want a guy who believes in God but is not heavily involved in church.

A summary of miscellaneous characteristics:

Same economic level as me

Understanding of my wild tendencies

No liars, cheaters, or cocky guys

Ability to apologize

Non-heavily involved Christian

Finally, I�d like to take favorite personality traits of my friends and former boyfriends:

From D, the Sweetheart, I would take his thoughtfulness and generousity.

From P, the Conqueror, I would take his well-rounded intelligence, his subtle sweetness, and the way he kissed.

From the boyfriend before D, I would take his spunkiness and his spontaneaity.

From J, the Romeo, I would take his kindness and how he listened.

From KP, the Oniisan, I would take his loyalty, realness, and comfortableness.

From R, the Life Floater, I would take his conversation skills and how he knew exactly what to do to keep me from thinking of the bad.

From JG, the not-so smug, I would take his undying devotion to his friends.

From LL, the Nice Guy, I would take his all around �good guy� attitude.

From MF, the Amuser, I would take his sense of humor.

From K, the Sorceress, I would take her attitude, her unspoken ability to make the bad go away, the way she knows how to not say anything when I�m venting, and her loyalty to friends that are halfway across the world.

From a friend whom I haven�t named yet in this diary, I would take his always funny attitude and offbeat sense of humor.

If I could combine all of these traits of my friends and ex�s, I think I would have my soulmate, regardless of expectations, physical characteristics, and emotional characteristics.

Again, this is a work in progress which may change at any time.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral