Tuesday, Jun. 11, 2002 11:30 a.m.

I finished reading The Bourne Identity last night and I was just utterly amazed at the book. I�m not going to rewrite the review that I have here, but you can read it on my book reviews page. Even though I know that the movie will not do the book justice, I�m still excited about the upcoming movie and would recommend to anyone, based on the book, to see it.

I mean, a movie would not be long enough to cover all the important little details that the book twisted into the plot, so of course it would not be as good. It also had to be updated from the very outdated espionage would of the 1980�s, so it, again, has to be different. But, wow, the premise itself is so unbelievably mind-boggling. What would happen if a spy lost his memory? What would happen if James Bond lost his memory but still retained all of his skills? It�s not like he could just go to the police and ask them to run a fingerprint or DNA check to find out who he is. People everywhere would want to kill him, and that�s the closest I can come to describing the premise of the book.

Wow.

I can�t wait to start the sequel: The Bourne Supremacy.

Anyway, nothing much is going on or has happened. I�ve been pretty consumed by the book, so I haven�t really had the time or reason to want to do much of anything else. I have very little to do here at work, so I guess I just have to keep finding stuff to make it look like I�m productive and important to the company.

One of my coworkers told me something really funny today: apparently traffic laws apply to bicycles.

That�s right kids, you can get a speeding ticket on a bicycle.

I have to ask myself though, what kind of cop is going to radar a bicyclist and then issue him a ticket for violating speed? How much damage can be done with a bicycle? I also wonder, does the ticket go on your driving record? Could you imagine being on your bike, riding along and see red and blue flashing lights behind you asking you to �pull over�? The cop marches up to you and says, �Do you have any idea why I stopped you son?� That�s one of the most hilarious things I�ve ever heard.

But it�s not better than this�.

�.you can get a DUI ticket on a bicycle�.

Now, I know that anyone who is intoxicated is a danger to the general public whether it is for fighting, driving, or puking. However, how dangerous can a drunk be to anyone else on his bike? He�s for sure a danger to himself, falling all over the place and what not, but how dangers could he be to someone else? All the previous questions apply though. Do you lose your license for a DUI on a bike? Does it go on your driving record? Does it get reported to your insurance company? I know that most of you are like, �What the hell? It wouldn�t get reported.�

Think about it.

If you are caught as a minor in possession of alcohol just walking down the street, it goes on your driving record, so why wouldn�t a ticket in which you were operating some sort of vehicle?

That�s just crazy to think about.

You�re filling out a job application and it asks about your past and you admit that you have a DUI. What are you supposed to do? Explain that you got it while riding your bicycle? Would even want to embarrass yourself like that? Heh.

I actually have no idea the validity of this law and if it is actually true. I have no idea how to check, but the questions and situations it brings up have kept me laughing for about three hours now.

Since I have nothing else noteworthy to contribute, go on and check out R, the Life Floater �s, really impressive drawing of Kirsten Dunst here.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral