Friday, Jan. 03, 2003 1:29 a.m.

I am tempted not to write this, as I don�t like revealing to people how stupid I can be when choosing who it is I�ll date, but it�s my diary and I�ll do what I want.

Almost every single day P, the Conqueror, IMs me with [usually] some more useless dribble about his car, to which I usually respond that I don�t want to hear it. He�ll insert some mundane comment about how I�m boring [yes, I�m boring because I don�t want to talk about his car, grand logic, ain�t it?] and the conversation will turn back to me [usually] saying, �Why do you even talk to me? I don�t enjoy talking to you. Please leave me alone.�

I can�t block the guy because he�ll make up new screen names and bug me on those.

I can�t ignore him because he�ll start messaging my phone.

And I really don�t feel like making up a new name and alerting the rest of the people on my list.

Usually, I try to steer him clear of conversation about his car if he messages me, but it doesn�t always work. And usually, he�ll start an argument with me about some other stupid subject, as proven tonight.

He mentioned to me that he didn�t like the Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers because it was �too similar to Harry Potter�.

I promptly put my jaw back into place and asked him what the hell he was even talking about and he gave the example that �all the characters looked exactly the same and were even named the same thing�.

Now, apparently, he doesn�t realize 1) that these movies are based on books and any similarities would be Harry Potter to LotR, not the other way around 2) There is an archtype for some characters which would, yes, make them look alike 3) he�s an idiot.

For his supreme example, he said [and I quote] �both evil dudes were named Snake�. I said that there is no one named �Snake� in either movie, to which he responded that I must be stupid.

Yeah, that�s my lovely ex talking there, always insulting someone who doesn�t agree with him.

Anyway, I said that Alan Rickman played Professor SNAPE in Harry Potter and it took me awhile to figure out which �evil dude� he was referring to in LotR. It obviously wasn�t Sauron because he has no shape. I said, �Well the only other �evil dude� is Saruman, the evil wizard, and that also doesn�t even remotely sound like �snake��.

He told me that he was talking about �the dude with the black hair�.

He has some extraordinary vocabulary and descriptive skills, doesn�t he?

I thought and thought and thought about who he could even be talking to, until I realized that the counselor to the King of Rohan looked slightly like Alan Rickman�s Snape. That particular character�s name was Grima Wormtongue, I believe.

Regardless, P was completely wrong on his �supreme� example and he was too busy calling me stupid to give me any others to refute. However, his rebuttal was �I just talked to like 4 people, and they all said Snake�.

I guess we�d better inform Tolkien and J.K. Rowling that they must have been thinking wrongly when they named their characters. I�ll get right on that.

Man, I hate admitting that I used to date someone like that.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral