Wednesday, Apr. 07, 2004 9:39 a.m.

Let the games begin!

Actually, that�s pretty ironic that I wrote that considering the point that I�m at in the novel Rainbow Six�.

Anyway, my super-dysfunctional family is baaaaaaaack! It always seems that the holiday of Easter is a festering ground for infighting. It must be because of the Christian undertones of the holiday. God loves irony!

Easter, this year, happens to fall on my aunt�s birthday. So we were going to mix our festivities into an Easter/birthday party for my aunt. However, I have, in case you don�t already know, a very small family. Most of our gatherings consist of me, my mom, my stepfather, my grandparents, Aunt C, and Cousin A. Occasionally, my stepmonster siblings will show up.

Which was precisely the point of contention for this particular holiday�.but I digress.

Since I have a small family, there is no reason to run out and buy a ham or a turkey, unless we want leftovers for three weeks. I, personally, don�t encourage gluttony, so I don�t mind if we have a smaller meal. To me, ham has been overdone anyway. My aunt, however, wanted ham very explicitly, playing her �birthday� card yet again. She also wants a cake. My mom doesn�t want to put that much work into it, and would rather make something small. Oh no, my aunt won�t have that�

Once that was settled [though, I�m unsure of which way the pendulum swung�] my aunt laid down the ultimatum that my stepfather�s children couldn�t attend. She doesn�t like them. Hell, I don�t really either, but I find their presence mildly entertaining as a way of passing the time. They usually just grab my stepfather and secede into another room, leaving the rest of us to bicker. She told my mother that if they were going to come, that she wasn�t. She also told my mom that she�d have to dis-invite them. Now, my stepfather is 1) going through a very rough time right now and 2) owns half the house, and even I can see that it�s total BS to do that.

She, again, tried to play her �birthday� card. However, this time, she was unsuccessful. My mom told her to go to hell. Not only that, but apparently, my aunt had invited Cousin J and Cousin D [along with their wives and children] to come to my mom�s house without even asking her first.

It just gets better and better, doesn�t it?

Anyway, they got into a fight and my aunt insisted that we all drive over to her house instead [minus the step-siblings]. My mom said that she had already made plans to stay at her house and my grandparents were going to go to her house, not my aunt�s. I, again, would rather go to my mother�s house because I�d rather drive 2 miles, as opposed to 100. That, and I don�t like sitting in a house that smells like dog urine. The last time that I was there for Easter, my aunt had a rabbit hopping around.

The end result is that I�m going to my mother�s, my stepsiblings aren�t attending [they have other plans], and my grandparents are coming.

So, for once, Easter should be pretty normal.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral