Friday, Jun. 28, 2002 10:03 a.m.

Wow, I almost had a heart attack when I saw my bank account balance today. It�s so nice to actually have over a grand in my account again. It won�t last for long, I�m sure as I have this horrible spending addiction as I proved last night in the most blatant signs of an obsessive spender.

I went to Media Play after work yesterday hoping to pick up a couple of really good used CD�s. However, their used CD collection sucks, so I decided to try something different. I went to the middle aisle and spun myself around for awhile and covered my eyes with my hand. Then I walked (er stumbled) around for awhile. When I came to a stop, I picked up the first thing that I put my hands on and bought it, which resulted in me buying a CD by Josh Groban.

He�s a vocalist who sings in English and some other language I have yet to identify. He�s got an incredible voice and since I have a fetish for great male vocalists; the purchase was perfect. I went to his website and found out that he is 21 and has appeared twice on Ally McBeal, singing two of the songs on his album. Wow.

This also made me realize that my heart seems to cry out for a singer, heh. If given a choice between a guy who can sing or a really famous, hot actor, I would choose the singer probably. I consider singing a talent above acting, probably because I�m completely tone deaf. This would also explain my mini crushes on Jonny Lang, the 98 Degrees guys, etc. It also explains my choices in music: generally, I prefer slow, melodic tunes with strong vocalists and primarily pianos and violins as instruments.

Ah�the romantic at heart again.

This also puts up a flag for all of the singers out there, heh (the STRAIGHT ones).

Work just seems to become less and less worth the money. I put up a survey asking if people would basically work for (my) boss who was demeaning and evil if the money was good. Pretty much the answers from the people that I know has been a resounding yes. Since I can�t really afford to look for another job and be jobless for awhile with the rising cost of tuition and my apartment, I�m just kinda stuck here. It�s only another month and a half and hopefully I won�t end up quitting by the end of next week. My boss sent out a couple of emails to AC and I, but not to the third intern AD. The first email was a request that we write reports on the computer work that we do. I have no problem with this. I am wondering, however, what his reasoning is behind it. Is it to check up on us to make sure we�re working? Is it for documentation so that someone else can repeat what we�ve done? Is it to help us as fledgling engineers and students? I�m not sure; he never explained. What actually bothers me is that the third intern was not requested to do the same. If it is to check up on us or to help us as students, then AD should also be required.

It�s only fair.

The second email was a request that either AC or I could clean out the Expedition because he has very important people coming in on Monday. Again, neither of us had a problem with this because we need to keep busy, but why wasn�t the email also sent to AD? Does our boss consider cleaning �women�s work�? Does he think that we don�t have enough to do?

I would ask him these questions except I�m almost positive that he�ll blow up at us for being ridiculous or something. There is a point there; we are his interns and he can treat us how he wants. I feel, however, for our benefit that we should be treated fairly. AC has come up with the theory that he treats AD differently because he�s a boy and I�m starting to believe it.

That�s sexual harassment folks.

When I got home today, all I wanted to do was sit in the chair and eat a good meal. I got my meal but then my mom sat down too and started asking me questions.

All I have to say is THANK GOD I don�t attend school and live at home.

I was essentially assigned seven chapters to read for Monday and my mom can�t seem to realize that I�m 21 years old and I�ve always gotten good grades; there is no need to nag.

�Did you read your chapters?�

�No.�

�Why not?�

�I worked.�

�Why not now?�

�I don�t want to.�

�You need to get it done. How many pages have you read?�

�39.�

�How many chapters is that?�

�One and a half.�

�When are you going to get it done?�

It was this conversation that made me remember high school where my mom used to nag my constantly about my grades�my perfect straight A grades. She used to bother me about every homework assignment that she knew about and every single time I was relaxing, she was almost sure that I didn�t have my homework done. I had really started to forget all the pressure she had put on me and claimed that she never cared at all about my grades.

If you don�t care, why the hell are you bugging me about some stupid reading that I can BS my way through?

I don�t fuckin get it. I�m 21, about to graduate, after three years of engineering classes. I think that I�ve proven that I can handle myself with some measly physiology class. I don�t need to be reminded to do my homework. I also don�t agree with her line of thinking that I need to work myself like a horse when I�m only 21. I shouldn�t have to work to death and not be able to enjoy life. I see that as a flaw in the way that she lived her life; she was so busy worrying about everything and coming up with backup plans and backup plans for the backups that she never enjoyed life. I don�t want to piddle away my youth and college years and then look back with regret. I want to enjoy myself more; I made that mistake in high school. I don�t think she truly grips the amount of time I have to slave up at school over homework. I don�t think that she gets that I never get vacation time like her: every vacation that I have, I spend working. I don�t think it�s fair that she expects even more out of me.

Let me enjoy my life, Christ.

On another note, I�m getting somewhat fed up with rude people. I don�t think that my stepfather intends it, but he�s pretty rude toward me. Yesterday, I was talking with my mother about my kitten which she had just stepped on when he busted into the house from outside and interrupted what I was saying so that she could go outside and he could check to see if her brakelights worked. What the hell? My mother had just stepped on my cat and we were worried to see if he was ok, the damn brakelights could wait ten seconds. He actually does that a lot though. He always interrupts when I�m talking with my mother whether it be about something that he�s going to get done and there�s no point in telling her right that second or with some stupid comment to be funny. I�m a person too and just because I�m younger doesn�t mean that I don�t deserve as much respect.

If my mom is lying on the couch watching what I�m watching on TV, he�ll also come into the room and sit down and start talking with her so that I can�t hear what I�m watching. Is it necessary to conduct your conversations where I�m trying to watch something? God knows that he�d have a huge fit if I did that while he was watching TV.

I guess that�s the theme of my complaining today. All I want is fairness. I want everyone to be treated equally and with the same respect. People seem to think that because I�m young, I don�t deserve respect and it�s annoying as hell. Youth shouldn�t always have to bow to those who are obstinate, that�s just obtuse.

And with that, please take my survey if you haven�t already.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral