Thursday, Aug. 29, 2002 11:09 a.m.

Die devil cold, die!

Well, yesterday was fun.

The night before last, I went to bed with this horrible ear problem. It felt like I had water in my ear.

No big deal, right?

Well, it wouldn�t go away, and I tried every way of getting rid of it. It started to get painful, so I laid down on that side, hoping it would go away during the night.

Not likely.

I woke up the next morning and not only did my ear kill, but I had a screwed up equilibrium. I couldn�t walk, stand, or even lift my head without feeling like I was on a roller coaster ride.

So, I swallow my standards of the medical community, and I call Olin, our health center and ask if they would see me ASAP.

Uh uh.

The first time they�ll see me is next Tuesday. Oh goodie. I put down the phone and go back to sleep, saying that ZOL 141 can just kiss my ass today. I wake up a few hours later in time for Antennas. I go out to the bus and wait�

�and wait�.

�and wait for 50 minutes and the bus doesn�t show up. Since my equilibrium was still all screwy, I went back to the apartment and laid down on the couch long enough to catch a bus for the next class, which LLJ, the Cartoonist, is in. TC is a breeze, so I organized my thoughts for my upcoming, scary lab and the stuff that I needed from home.

I had noticed that my ear problem was going away. I had balance, but my ear still felt like something was in it. I went home, cooked myself a nice dinner, and laid on the couch for awhile. RP, the Roommate, came home from work and it turned out that she had a class at the exact same time as me, so we decided to drive together.

She dropped me off at the back of the engineering building and I noticed that there was this terribly loud noise and everyone was standing outside. I heard bits and pieces of conversations and the words, �fire alarm�.

Now, of course, my first thoughts were, �Ooh, do I get out of lab today?� but I wanted to smack myself. This time was necessary, no matter how much I dreaded it. I decided to venture to the front of the building to see if I could spot anyone who would be in my lab. I saw a couple people and talked with them for awhile about the difficulty of our projects and how we had to work independently. Then, the firemen waved an �all clear� on the building so that we could walk in. As I was walking in, I turned my head to look behind me and I saw this face that looked really familiar, but since I was already running late, I couldn�t stop him to find out who he was. But, he did that for me�

�Hey J,� he said and smiled at me when he came up on my right side.

�Oh hey�.um�..heh�I don�t remember who you are�� I stammered, trying to be as polite as possible.

�We worked together at [insert name of my internship here].�

Oh! When I first started my internship, three summers ago, I had this huge crush on this muscular, blonde, tanned maintenance worker. He had the most incredible smile. Of course, I never acted on it because, I thought, he was much older than I was (being 18 and later 19 at the time) and because I was with D, the Sweetheart. Things were going well for us then, so I just admired his unbelievably body from afar. Actually, I don�t think we ever really talked much that summer, because I kinda always ate lunch at my desk and tried to keep really busy (not like now). Anyway, I left after the summer, and he had quit, so I never saw him again.

�HT?� I said, holding out my hand for him to shake when we had gotten out of the crowd.

�Yeah!� he smiled and shook it.

�Okay, you go here?� I said surprised.

�Yeah, I need to finish my degree, so I decided to finish here. Actually, that�s the first thing I thought about when I transferred here�..that you were engineering. I figured that you had graduated by now, though.�

�Really? No, no, this is my last year.�

�Weren�t you a sophomore when you started? Wasn�t that three years ago?�

�Oh, yeah, yeah, I was a sophomore by credit, but, well, the classes that I�ve needed haven�t always been available for me to take. Anyway, I�m finishing this year as a �second year senior� even though it�s only my fourth year. So you were kinda right with your assumption.�

�Oh�right�now I remember.�

�That�s so strange that you remembered me and all of these facts about me.�

�Oh, well, how could I forget you?�

Awwwwwwww! Well I was impressed with his impeccable memory, considering I couldn�t even remember where I knew him from.

�Well, do you wanna hang out sometime? How about I get your number?� I said and whipped out my handy cell phone. I took his and he took mine, and things are in harmony with the world.

Well, maybe, regardless of the outcome of this, that was almost like fate knocking on my door�.or knocking down my door saying, �GET THE HINT!�

We�ll see, I�m not gonna call him for a few days.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral