Monday, Mar. 15, 2004 10:28 a.m.

I was reading an opinion column today online, and the subject was �Thing that make me go GRRR!� I decided that after my weekend, I should also point out some pet peeves.

Last night, B and I went to go see Mystic River. I though that because the movie has been out for so long that there would be barely anyone in the theater. Well, there were about 20 or 30 people in the theater overall, but I think that at least half of them were, beyond a doubt, the most obnoxious movie goers that I�ve ever had the displeasure of dealing with.

The people directly in front of us had to explain to each other what every action in the movie was about. They did this, not in a hushed tone that is expected in a movie theater, but at a pretty high vocal level. The people behind me and to my left couldn�t keep their feet still for more than five minutes at a time, and either kicked the seats repeatedly or rested their smelly, dirty feet next to my face. The family over to our right must have gotten up, very noisily, at least five or six times. The movie ended around 9:30, and is very violent. However, they decided that their two young children were old enough to come see, and disrupt, it. When I was that age, I was in bed by 8:00�not sitting in a movie theater, kicking the seats, getting up every two minutes to sit on someone�s lap, and asking what was going on. Then, to add to it, Mommy dearest decided about halfway through the movie to tear apart her plastic cup, and Daddy thought he should answer his children�s queries in a voice so loud that it echoed. I �shushed� them at least once, and they booked it out of the theater by the end of the movie before I could go say something to them.

Now, I have often been lumped in to a generation of extremely rude people because of my age. However, I must have been half the age of the people in that theater, all of whom were so obnoxious that they thought that they were viewing the movie in their homes. Buy a DVD player, people, and stop coming to the movies if you insist on acting that way. Where do all of these �obnoxious� children learn it from? You.

When I went to the cafeteria last week to buy coffee, I noticed at least 4 women wearing mini skirts, hooker boots, and stilettos. All they needed was a pair of fishnets to complete their trashy, clubbing apparel. This is a business, and I was absolutely ashamed for them. This is not a place to put your rack on display, and half of these women were way too old to be dressing like that to begin with. Do you not understand the concept of decency?

When I went to the mall this past weekend to buy some shoes, I noticed that the parking lot was full and people were everywhere. If people are going to criticize Bush for putting us into an economic depression, stop going to the mall and spending money. I heard this woman justifying to someone on her cell phone, �I deserve this. I really do.� If you need to justify your purchase to someone so defensively, no you didn�t deserve it. She�s probably some housewife that spends her husband�s money every week at the mall with that same lame excuse. Sure, an occasional splurge is good, but I think that woman had five full shopping bags. Not only that, but stores need to learn how to design their aisleways better. They put these displays in the middle, and apparently everyone is too stupid to understand basic shopping etiquette, which includes NOT stopping in the middle of the aisle to dilly dally. I want to get by, so move your ass. I don�t need to waste two minutes watching you peruse something that you could have moved over to look at. And while I�m on the subject�.what�s up with people who get all pissed off when you say, �Excuse me� to get them to move over. I got tons of dirty looks and people moving over an inch, maybe two, so that I could barely squeeze by. I have no problem, then, with whacking you with my bag since you�re soooooo considerate.

I hate people. I really do.

I was reading an opinion column today online, and the subject was �Thing that make me go GRRR!� I decided that after my weekend, I should also point out some pet peeves.

Last night, B and I went to go see Mystic River. I though that because the movie has been out for so long that there would be barely anyone in the theater. Well, there were about 20 or 30 people in the theater overall, but I think that at least half of them were, beyond a doubt, the most obnoxious movie goers that I�ve ever had the displeasure of dealing with.

The people directly in front of us had to explain to each other what every action in the movie was about. They did this, not in a hushed tone that is expected in a movie theater, but at a pretty high vocal level. The people behind me and to my left couldn�t keep their feet still for more than five minutes at a time, and either kicked the seats repeatedly or rested their smelly, dirty feet next to my face. The family over to our right must have gotten up, very noisily, at least five or six times. The movie ended around 9:30, and is very violent. However, they decided that their two young children were old enough to come see, and disrupt, it. When I was that age, I was in bed by 8:00�not sitting in a movie theater, kicking the seats, getting up every two minutes to sit on someone�s lap, and asking what was going on. Then, to add to it, Mommy dearest decided about halfway through the movie to tear apart her plastic cup, and Daddy thought he should answer his children�s queries in a voice so loud that it echoed. I �shushed� them at least once, and they booked it out of the theater by the end of the movie before I could go say something to them.

Now, I have often been lumped in to a generation of extremely rude people because of my age. However, I must have been half the age of the people in that theater, all of whom were so obnoxious that they thought that they were viewing the movie in their homes. Buy a DVD player, people, and stop coming to the movies if you insist on acting that way. Where do all of these �obnoxious� children learn it from? You.

When I went to the cafeteria last week to buy coffee, I noticed at least 4 women wearing mini skirts, hooker boots, and stilettos. All they needed was a pair of fishnets to complete their trashy, clubbing apparel. This is a business, and I was absolutely ashamed for them. This is not a place to put your rack on display, and half of these women were way too old to be dressing like that to begin with. Do you not understand the concept of decency?

When I went to the mall this past weekend to buy some shoes, I noticed that the parking lot was full and people were everywhere. If people are going to criticize Bush for putting us into an economic depression, stop going to the mall and spending money. I heard this woman justifying to someone on her cell phone, �I deserve this. I really do.� If you need to justify your purchase to someone so defensively, no you didn�t deserve it. She�s probably some housewife that spends her husband�s money every week at the mall with that same lame excuse. Sure, an occasional splurge is good, but I think that woman had five full shopping bags. Not only that, but stores need to learn how to design their aisleways better. They put these displays in the middle, and apparently everyone is too stupid to understand basic shopping etiquette, which includes NOT stopping in the middle of the aisle to dilly dally. I want to get by, so move your ass. I don�t need to waste two minutes watching you peruse something that you could have moved over to look at. And while I�m on the subject�.what�s up with people who get all pissed off when you say, �Excuse me� to get them to move over. I got tons of dirty looks and people moving over an inch, maybe two, so that I could barely squeeze by. I have no problem, then, with whacking you with my bag since you�re soooooo considerate.

I hate people. I really do.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral