Sunday, Aug. 17, 2003 4:48 p.m.

WARNING!!! Massive bitching ahead!!!

I can�t take this anymore. I�m going to either a) start a huge fight with my stepfather that will result in my expulsion from the house or b) just lose it and have to be committed.

If I hear about this Texas thing one more time�.

Wait, I�m sure that most of you have no idea what I�m talking about�.

Anyway, a few entries ago, I mentioned how my stepfather�s father is in the hospital, but is expected to recover. Of course, the doctors said that about his mother, who died about a year ago�

Well, my stepfather and his brother have been fighting for two days about visiting their father. They are trying to decide when the best time to go would be, as well as how long they should each stay. My step-uncle decided that it would be best if they went in shifts, as to maximize the amount of time that they would be helping their father.

His plan is that he will fly down next week and stay for three weeks, and then my stepfather will fly down just as he�s leaving and stay for three weeks. This leaves six weeks to help their father get out of the hospital and help him around the house so that he will be able to take care of himself when they leave.

Sounds pretty simple, doesn�t it?

Well, apparently, logic doesn�t seem to run in my stepfather�s family. He, my mother, and his brother have been arguing for two days, TWO DAYS, about this.

The first problem was that no one understood his brother�s plan. That took a few hours (and ultimately until today) to decipher. After that, my stepfather has flat out refused to stay that long, running around the house going, �I ain�t gonna do it. I�m just not gonna do it.�

Putting aside the fact that I want to smack him for his hick-like lack of proper grammar, I�m GODDAMN sick of hearing about how busy he is.

That�s right kiddies, my stepfather refuses to take care of his own ill father because he is busy. �Busy doing what?� you may ask.

Who the hell knows?

The man is retired (RETIRED!) and he�s running around like he�s the freakin� president of the U.S.

�Well I�m just too busy. I have plans! I didn�t retire to do things that I didn�t want to do.�

Oh, I�m sorry that your elderly ill and injured father is such a burden. I mean, it must really suck to have your father, who raised, clothed, and fed you ask to have you come visit him (after you have refused to do it for an entire year) when you�re a busy retired man. Yes, I mean�the Masonic Lodge is so much more important than your father. Memorizing a secret handshake and secret language with a bunch of other retirees is simply much more important than spending time with the father that probably won�t even last another year.

[counts to ten]

So when my step-uncle gave this suggestion, it obviously didn�t go over well. In fact, he told my stepfather to hold off flying in until the week after Labor Day. My mother decided to check on ticket prices for several dates. Prior to Labor Day, the plane ticket is $800. After Labor Day, the plane ticket is $300.

But noooooooooooooo, my stepfather has �Lodge� stuff going on in September that he doesn�t want to miss.

Okay�.not only does he absolutely refuse to help his father, but if he decides to go, he also insists that it be done when the ticket price is more expensive (while money is really tight around here).

In fact, since my mother has lost her job, he has done NOTHING to cut back on his spending. While my mother doesn�t even get to buy the things that she needs, my stepfather keeps taking out his $100 a week allowance (which he refuses to use on groceries, necessities, and gas�what the HELL does he spend that money on?).

[counts to ten again]

I�m getting damn sick of his constant negative attitude. I�m getting sick of him bitching under his breath about stupid shit like me cracking my knuckles. I�m getting sick of him insisting on knowing how much money I make. I�m getting sick of him deciding that I spend too much money. I�m getting sick of constantly hearing the television.

But most of all, I�m getting sick of how selfish he�s been acting.

This is his father, for crying out loud. Where, exactly, does family fall on the totem pole of his life? Why is he so quick to disregard the man that raised him? I mean, he�s already lost his mother, and he leaves his father (who lost the woman he was married to for over 65 years) all alone for an entire year, while his brother flies in from Alaska (ALASKA!) at least three times a year.

Doesn�t he have any morals? Doesn�t he have any compassion? Doesn�t he care?

[shakes head]

I just can�t understand that, and it makes me sad to think about it.

And with that�.I�m done with my horribly bitchy rant.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral