Friday, Aug. 09, 2002 11:05 a.m.

I am so damn bored right now. I kinda don�t even wanna work on that stupid C code thing that I still have to do before Friday�s up. Actually, I have to write a report on that too, but since I�ve done next to nothing, I guess I can�t, haha.

Someone just paged �Mike Coochie� on the PA system here. I�m sorry, either that bastard is the unluckiest person on earth, or someone called in to play a joke.

We had our presentations in Dearborn yesterday. Their facility is like ten times the facility we have here. They have an actual cafeteria that serves food, ATM machine in the building, stamp machine, leather chairs in the lounge.

If we own them, why is our facility so not up to par?

Oh wait, I know! Soon they�ll be moving out of Visteon�s facility and into one that we bought. I guess they�re going to need to get ready for the shaft.

Our presentations went decently. A couple of the bigwigs showed up, but they hardly had any questions for anyone from Auburn Hills. They were saving all of their questions for their own intern. However, when he finished his presentation, someone decided to ask, �Well, I�m not exactly getting a clear picture of what you kids gained from your work experience here.�

I wanted to answer with, �Well that�s because we gained nothing and hated it,� but instead I said, �Well, for me, since I�m graduating, I needed to find more what I was looking for in a job� and some BS like that. They also asked AC and I what we meant by our disappointment in lack of experience in the lab.

�Well, for one, I�d like to learn how to solder,� AC interjected. Everyone laughed.

�Well, if you�d like to solder, come on in next week and we�ll teach you,� one of the engineers piped in.

That man became my new best friend.

After the presentation, the various engineers came by to shake our hands (unlike at the other facility) and talk to us for awhile about our goals. They all seemed very interested in hiring everyone back for next summer because they had a shortage of interns. I started talking to the guy who offered to allow us to solder and he was asking about my specialty in EE.

�Oh, I�m specializing in electromagnetics,� I said.

�Really? Radar or EMC?�

�EMC.�

�What? Where have you been all summer? We have desperately needed people for EMC. You are a hard breed to find.�

�Oh really? Well, if you can wait until May, I am looking for a job.�

�Well, we may not have a choice. If the market stays the same, we will definitely be wanting you.�

�Well, I can keep in contact with you and send a resume if you�d like.�

�That�d be perfect.�

Score.

After the somewhat scary drive back to Auburn Hills, I grabbed my things and set out for my house. The plans were to watch The Lord of the Rings with my mom.

Trouble�s still not eating and it�s starting to really get to everyone in the household. We�ve tried feeding him everything, down to his favorites. The only result is that my kitten is getting fatter by eating all of his leftovers.

Anyway, we started the movie and my mom kept getting up every five minutes to do something. I kept pausing the movie in response. She said, �Oh you don�t have to pause it, I read the books.�

Ok�

Well, when various fight scenes come up my mom would say, �Oh is this where he dies??�

�Didn�t you read the books?�

�That was 20 years ago, I don�t remember this.�

Ok then.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral