Wednesday, Mar. 19, 2003 11:29 a.m.

There�s this saying that whenever God closes a door, He opens a window.

Granted, there hasn�t been an open window in the hypothetical, though the windows in the apartment have been open, but He�s at least shown me the window.

Strangely enough, after spending the entire day upset about my recent job loss, I got an email later on in the evening from another company I interviewed with. She asked me if I had employment and if I didn�t, was I still interested in the company?

Why hell yes I am.

So, it�s not a guarantee, but it�s another opportunity.

Yesterday, this little boy came a-knockin� on my door, even though there�s a giant sign on the entrance way to the complex that says �NO SOLICITORS�. He was selling candles for basketball camp. He was such a tiny tiny thing; probably only seven years old, and only about half my size. I instantly felt for him. I mean, he must need a lot of money if he�s asking college students for money. I borrowed $3 off of RP, the Roommate, to buy a candle off of him [the candle was $10!].

Of course, the non-selfless side of me came back as soon as I put the candle on my mantle. By helping that little boy, was I giving myself good karma that would possibly lead to employment?

After thinking this, I was reminded of something from religion class. We covered something called �Pascal�s wager�. It was this idea by the mathematician Pascal that said that the inconvenience of leading a Christian life, even if God does not exist, is worth it compared to the possible benefit or punishment [heaven or hell]. The mathematics behind this is, of course, arbitrary, but think of it this way. The inconvenience of leading a Christian life, regardless of God�s existence is -100. If you don�t do anything at all, the value is 0. Now, we can assign a value of 1 million for going to heaven and negative 1 million for going to hell.

Even if the probability of God�s existence is only 1/100, the numbers work out so that living a Christian life and going to heaven works out to be 9,100 or something and going to hell [and not living a Christian life] works out to be -10,000.

It was brought to our attention, in class, however, that what if God catches on to this ruse? More simply, living a Christian life just to beat the odds of going to hell is not enough to guarantee a space in heaven. Most Christians would agree to that.

Now, by realizing that I might be giving myself good karma by helping that little boy, did I negate my good karma? I haven�t gotten any emails today about my applications�

Moving on�

I had a whole slew of weird dreams last night. I dreamed that somehow, someone and I walked over to P�s house and stole his precious car. Not only that, but we took it driving [somehow, I could magically drive his car] through the dirt and grass of a field that he lived near. We even went airborne a few times. It was like we were dirt-biking with sports cars. Needless to say, P wasn�t amused, and he stole my car [which was a jade supra] to follow us. It was something out of a video game. There were other dirt-drivers, parachuters, helicopters�all on this one field.

The scariness of him chasing me started to get to me though. And�

�suddenly he was chasing us on foot through snow as three parachuters dropped to the ground with children. This was some major snow�as in like 6 ft. We had to hike through it so that we didn�t freeze to death and climb this horribly tall fence to get to our freedom. Since I�m so tall, I had to help get the children over the fence.

I don�t know. I just don�t get it.

And on another note�.

I was reading on my message board about this guy saying that he helps some veteran�s place. He is in charge of arranging things to send over to those who are going to be [or already are] in Iraq. They are looking for �comfort� donations, such as CD�s, batteries for walkmans, playing cards, etc. They also encourage pen pal letters.

I kinda want to do this with whatever limited means I have, but I don�t know where to go to help. Anyone know?

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral