Tuesday, Jun. 04, 2002 2:44 p.m.

I�m tired.

I�m not sure what I was expecting; after all, being at home on Vicodin wasn�t that great, work certainly isn�t much better. Actually, I think that being here at work has made it worse: I actually feel the pain in my shoulder and neck while on everyone�s favorite narcotic.

As much as I�m excited about my new car, I�d like to hit the rewind button and have it so I had left five minutes earlier. A new car isn�t worth this kind of hassle, pain, arguments, anger, and ultimately: money. I would love to say I�m the better person and turn the other cheek but in reality-ville, I want to sue the asses off those people who couldn�t tell the color red from the color green.

Turned from yellow to red, my ass.

I know that I�m partial to myself, but I actually think that I�m a good driver, of course, when I�m not playing with my cell phone. Was I a good drive at 16? Hell no, now that I look back on it. I know that the 15 year old self inside of me would scream and cry at what I�m about to say, but oh well�

�I don�t think that 16 year olds are mature enough to drive�.

That�s right, I�m sorry kids, but I took driver�s training. It was basically my parents taking $300 and handing it over to someone while I sat in a crowded room chewing gum and pretending to watch the informational movie they were showing. The scariest part of all is that I only had to drive with the instructor for a total of four hours.

FOUR HOURS!

I know, I know, before you get your license, you are supposed to log quite a few hours with your parents on your learner�s permit, but think about it. If you were a parent, would you really want to drive around with an excited 15 year old behind the wheel? Hell no! Not only would I personally fear for my own safety and those around us, but I really don�t wanna take what little free time I have left and log hours in the dark, rain, sleet, and snow with my 15 year old son or daughter.

Anyway, the resulting effect is that most sophomores in high school are terrible drivers and now add in that they all have cell phones and you�ve got one hell of a mess on your hands.

Now, don�t get me wrong, I�m not corralling all stupid drivers and saying that they range between 16 and 18. There are, of course, the old fogies.

I also believe that mandatory road tests should be given to anyone over the age of 55.

I know that all of you have dealt with some old person, barely able to see over the wheel, driving about 25 miles an hour down the freeway with his or her foot riding the brake. You know? They erratically switch lanes, don�t watch where they�re going because they�re blind in one eye, and they always, ALWAYS have their left blinker on.

Now that we�ve covered the young and old, there�s my new personal favorite category: the foreign.

I�m sorry, if you can�t speak English�no license.

If the license is merely for identification purposes, there�s always the option of the Michigan state ID. Otherwise, if you can�t speak English, how is it you�re supposed to be able to tell your story to the police when you�re pulled over? How would you read street signs? Communication is an important part of driving and I�m sorry to all of you foreigners, but it is a privelge to drive, not a right.

On another note�

It really seems to me that either I�m really deaf or everyone mumbles. It�s like my own family is taking after Ozzy Osborne. My mother gets extremely mad if I say, �I didn�t understand a word of what you just said��

Mom, before you get pissed off, taking your hand from your mouth, swallow what you�re chewing, and face me. My mother doesn�t seem to understand that if she�s got her hand over her mouth, sound waves are not being emitted completely into the entire area. She also doesn�t understand that by having food in her mouth, she�s not enunciating, and finally by not facing me, the level of sound also goes down.

But it�s my fault.

I must have terrible hearing.

My stepfather is kinda the same way, but he mumbles intentionally. Who exactly is he trying to get approval from? Ghosts? If something pisses him off, I always here something like,

�mmshhhhm goddamn mmmmshhhii motherfucker mmshnuffff�

If you have something to say, just freakin say it. What exactly do you get out of being so passive aggressive? He was mumbling and grumbling about something when I was cleaning my car, something about the mess. It�s my damn car, I�ll keep it clean the way I want to. I don�t see you going out of your way, since you don�t work, to clean up the house.

Anyway, can you tell that I�m bored and my vicodin is wearing off?

Does anyone have any suggestions for books I could read? I�m almost done with the one that I just started yesterday and depending on if my stepfather came through with all the errands he�s running today, I might have a copy of The Bourne Identity to read. However, after that, my list is fresh out of books.

Everyone pray for Bandit whose claws are being removed today. =[

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral