Wednesday, Jul. 03, 2002 3:47 p.m.

This entry refers back to an entry I wrote about two hours ago. Click HERE to read it.

I seriously can�t stand talking to my mom about anything relating to my future.

I asked her today if she would help me pay for the registration for the LSAT and she started asking her usual billion questions.

First, she told me that I wouldn�t pass the LSAT because I have no previous experience in pre-law.

Second, she told me that I�d never be able to afford it so there�s no point in taking the test.

Third, she told me that there are no jobs for lawyers so it�s pointless to go and I�m better off in engineering.

She told me all three of these things before I had even opened my mouth that law schools recruit engineering students, that I�d already gotten dozens of letters urging me to attend law school. She has all of these assumptions without basing it upon any fact.

I know that she�s not out to be vicious or try and hurt me, but I�m so damn sick of her �failure imminent� attitude. My mother is a smart woman, but she fails to realize that she does not know everything.

I remember the argument with her that I had awhile back. She claimed that electrical engineers don�t start above $40,000 a year because she knew people who started at that pay. After finding that out, there was �no possible way� I could start any higher than that. I have a year to prove her wrong.

I�m not going to go into huge detail about all of these instances, but it just seems that my mom comes up with these ideas, either from her parents or other people, and suddenly those ideas are gospel�no one can defy them.

It�s not fair that I�ve done research on this but yet I know nothing.

I don�t get why she�s got this idea that I�m destined to not do well and not be happy. Why can�t she congratulate me on my aspirations instead of issuing me a skeptical �good luck�?

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral