Lies My Teacher Told Me

James Loewen

Non fiction, American History



I started reading this book in mid May. The purpose of the book was the explain the difference between the history that we learn in our history books versus �true� American history. I found the book to be highly enjoyable, and almost considered mailing a copy to my old AP US History teacher. An example of erroneous history covered in the book is found with Woodrow Wilson. I distinctly remember my AP US History teacher saying that Woodrow Wilson, one of the most �progressive� presidents in history, was her absolute favorite president. However, what is not reported in our history textbooks is that President Wilson was one of the greatest racists to grace the office of president. He actually conspired to keep black people out of cabinet positions that they had held since the Civil War. If you enjoy American History, this is a must read so that we as Americans are no longer fooled by textbook writers.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral