Tuesday, May. 20, 2003 12:39 p.m.

I actually went to the doctor today knowing full well that they would test my blood.

I didn�t even squirm at all�I�m so proud of myself.

Anyway, the diagnosis is that I have to come back in a week to review my labs, but the doctor has a feeling that I have a thyroid problem. I would go into the details of what caused me to have this checked out, but the problem that I encounter is rather embarrassing, so I�d just rather not. Teehee.

Unfortunately, it looks as though I may not be starting work (if I get the job) as early as I had hoped. The earliest that my labs will be back is next week, so if I get the contract job, I obviously cannot start a week from today.

Oh darn, I can�t start working for the rest of my life on my twenty second birthday.

It sounded like a bad omen to me anyway. I don�t know. There�s something about starting your career on your birthday that just screams, �WRONG!� The problem, though, is that I�m not too sure that the company that I would be working for would be all that thrilled about me starting work on a Wednesday and might just have me start the following week.

Why is that a problem, you ask?

Well the issue is that if I start the following week, my first day will be June 2nd. If I start after June 1st, my benefits will not kick in until July. It�s much more preferable to me to start in late May and have my benefits kick in by June 1st.

I have to wonder about that, though. Since I had to go to the doctor today, will my father�s insurance cover it? I mean, do they kick me off his benefits the minute I graduate from college, or do they allow some kind of grace period?

I really hope for the grace period. I mean, I definitely can�t afford a bunch of medical bills. And all of this is assuming that I even got the contract job. I�ll find out for sure today, and I�m pretty sure I got it, but who knows what circumstances may arise?

Lately, I�ve been thinking it funny when people offer me career advice. I mean, I understand that people are only trying to help, but very few people actually understand my situation. It�s the same with all people. I am loathe to offer advice with regard to making career decisions to anyone who is outside my sphere of expertise. If you�re not an entry level engineer, I have little to offer you. Maybe it�s just that people are trying to start a conversation or just try and be useful, but sometimes it�s really funny.

I think the most common mistake people make when they find out that I�m an electrical engineer is that they confuse me with an electrician. I don�t fix electrical appliances, I don�t put outlets into homes, I don�t wire things. Often, when people do actually know what an engineer does, they confuse me with industrial engineers who design lighting systems for buildings or weld things.

Nope, not me.

I�m the type of engineer that sits in an office, behind a computer, and answers emails. I�m the type of engineer that you stereotype as a nerd. I sit at my desk, take something apart, look at it, use equipment on it, then runs a computer program to figure out how to fix it.

So while I appreciate any advice that people have to offer, try not to get upset if I don�t take it. I realize that most people who offer advice are doing it out of the kindness of their hearts, but sometimes the kindness is unnecessary.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral