Friday, Aug. 01, 2003 9:31 p.m.

Everything in my life seems to go in phases.

The phases in my life are also on like hyper speed. I start them, devour them, and move on really quickly. Thankfully, my �working out� phase hasn�t applied to this yet.

I have to wonder, though, if writing has become a past phase that I�ve moved on from. Does that explain why I�m so loathe to update? It�s not that I dread the idea of doing it; it�s more the feeling that everything that I think and feel as of late would not be of any interest to anyone else.

I�m not like the other people that I often read; I do not need validation from others to feel good about myself. I often write when my mind is overflowing with conflicting or strong emotions. Since I have not felt too many strong emotions lately, I have found no reason to write.

Everything appears to be, blissfully or not, a straight and emotionless line.

Don�t get me wrong--I have definitely had some good times and some bad. Most recently, my company paid for an outing to CJ Barrymores for the day. I certainly had a lot of fun. It�s more that I haven�t had any dramatic or noteworthy feelings overcome me lately.

My thoughts have revolved around buying a condo or a car. My feelings have fallen upon something that I cannot share yet in this vastly personal world of readership.

I don�t understand the people who are driven to constantly update their lives online for the world to see. I don�t understand the motivation behind trying to prove oneself constantly to an invisible online world. Why do you need to validate yourself and insist that you are someone to people you can�t even see?

Why not just believe that you truly are who you are? Unless�.of course�.you don�t really believe it. Regardless, why bother trying to get that last word in, that last stab? Why not just move on and be happy with yourself?

Why the need to keep shouting to everyone when you don�t truly believe it yourself?

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral