Thursday, Jan. 10, 2002 3:24 p.m.

~ �Look at me, you may think you see who I really am, but you�ll never know me. Everyday it�s as if I play a part. Now I see if I wear a mask, I can fool the world, but I can�t fool my heart.� ~

Secret rubbed her temples as the music seemed to surround her. It spoke volumes of truth that had seemed to stay unsaid for so long. Prominence, in essence, was the mask that Secret put on for the world. Why was she so afraid to be revealed? Why did she hide in fear of everyone so much?

~ �Who is that girl I see, staring straight back at me? When will my reflection show who I am inside?� ~

Life didn�t seem to be so complicated when she was younger. Secret was not surrounded by lies and betrayal then. It was then that the world had made sense, now it seemed to be backwards. All those years, her parents had told her that her imagination is what had made the world so big and scary. When exactly did she develop these two facets?

~ �I am now in a world where I have to hide my heart and what I believe in, but somehow I will show the world what�s inside my heart and be loved for who I am.� ~

When Secret was a little girl, there had been no lies. Everything had been so simple. Her friends saw no need to �go with the crowd.� Secret could be spunky, strange, energetic, or imaginative without facing some form of persecution. Why on earth would anyone discourage imagination? Back then, Secret really believed that she could truly believe everything. She�d had a clean slate. She didn�t need to be pretty, thin, coy, quiet, or anything that was asked of women. She just needed to be her.

~ �Who is that girl I see, staring straight back at me? Why is my reflection someone I don�t know? Must I pretend that I�m someone else for all time? When will my reflection show who I am inside?� ~

Maybe it was because when she grew up, the people around her became hurtful. Secret could remember being tortured by her then grade-school best friend. Now, Secret realized that strangely enough, her �friend� had been driven by jealousy. Secret remembered wondering why friends should ever be jealous of each other; they were supposed to help each other.

~ �Inside there�s a heart that must be free to fly and that burns with a need to know the reason why. Why must we all conceal what we think, how we feel? Must there be a secret me I�m forced to hide? I won�t pretend that I�m someone else for all time. When will my reflection who I am inside? When will my reflection show who I am inside?� ~

After seeing how truly mean all kids were either to her or someone else, Secret really began to believe that the underlying nature of humans was indeed to be evil and selfish, not giving and caring. Now, Secret wasn�t sure exactly what she believed about society. She was so disillusioned that it seemed impossible to form a solid opinion, especially after life always threw her a curveball.

She stood up and looked in the mirror. The truth was that she and Prominence looked exactly alike for the most part. But a difference between the two of them was obvious because how much their personalities shined from the inside and marked themselves on the outside.

But why was it necessary for there to be two of them? Was Prominence made of tougher stuff than she? Was it simply because Prominence had no real depth and thus felt no deep feeling including pain? Why did Secret feel the need to be protected so much?

Whatever the reason was for their existences, it was obvious that they needed each other.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral