Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2003 8:18 a.m.

[shivers in her chair under the cold cold air]

I got a phone call yesterday from MSU. I was already in a hurry to get to spinning, but I decided to actually talk to the poor sap. First, he wanted to update my profile with my current address, profession, and whatever, which was fine with me. Then came what I knew was coming, the request for a donation.

�We at the Honors College are raising money for scholarship for the top 65% of the HC class. Your donation would only be $500 and could be made in 3 installments over a period of a couple of months��

Uh huh, right. Those morons are asking me for money not even after 4 months of being out of school? Let�s see�.I didn�t even get a job for a month after I graduated. All of my money there had to go to paying back the debt that I accumulated because I had no money in school because tuition was taking it all. Alright�..let�s add in that I still owe over 18 grand on my education, my recent car loan, I�m saving for a house/apartment, I have no furniture, and I�m still not out of debt yet. Yeah, I can really spare the $500. Oh yes, we can�t forget the most important part: I was in the top 65% of the HC class and I never saw a dime from them.

�Listen, whatever your name is, I just got out of school 4 months ago, I have absolutely no money, I paid over $200 a credit hour in tuition, and I still owe over 18 grand on my education. Now, since I�m paying interest on that education for oh�.the next ten years, do you really think that I have the money to spare? I don�t recall ever getting money from the Honors College for scholarship, even though I applied every year.�

�Were you in the top 65% of your class?�

�Why yes, yes, I was. Top 25% for a few years.�

�Well, this is why we�re collecting money, so no one has the problem that you did.�

�Riiiiiiight. Have a nice day.�

[click]

Rat bastards! How many more phone calls and mail am I going to get from the university that did nothing other than greedily take my money, offer me no breaks, and hiked tuition 18% just about every year? They pay over $230 a credit hour now, you�d think they have enough money by now.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral