Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2002 11:09 p.m.

I always think its funny when people post online diaries but want only selective readership.

It�s like when they find out that you�ve found and have been reading it, they feel violated. LOL�.Now, from what I know, the internet is not private. You can pretty much search for anything you want and find it (and as I�ve learned many times before, you can�t always trust the source of what you�re reading�how many times did I hear that in high school when doing research for papers?). Anyway, �blogs�, weblogs, diaries, online journals have been around for a long time. I�ve been writing in mine for a little over three years. In fact, as of January, I will be entering into my fourth calendar year on diaryland. The problem with online journals, as I�ve said before, is that you are not just writing for yourself.

Go ahead and argue with me about this, but if you wanted privacy, you�d keep the journal locked or offline�otherwise you�re just kidding yourself.

When you post in an online journal, you�re basically (with a few exceptions: locked diaries, etc) posting for the world to read and judge. Sometimes the judgments people make are not pleasant, sometimes they are helpful�sometimes they�re unwanted. But the fact of the matter is that you left yourself vulnerable, and you have to face what you wrote, whether you offended someone, hurt a friend, made a brass generalization, were just plain wrong�or�my personal favorite�you want a selective readership.

So�I�ll say this again�.if you don�t want someone reading what you say, don�t post it.

Anyway, my streak of parking ticket elusiveness is officially over. I have gotten two of the suckers in two days. One of them was for $25, which was completely ridiculous. If the freakin engineering lot is full, then lock the gates, don�t let about seven other cars to roam around and inevitably end up parking on the grass. I�m not paying that one. I�m actually going to expend the necessary effort to fight it, and dammit�with my future lawyering skills, I�m going to win.

As of about 4 pm today, I finished two more of my classes. As luck would have it, I still have one final left and, of course, it�s on Friday. My schedule worked out perfectly this semester so that every time AC, the Coworker, was free from studying, I had to study and vice versa. It must all work out for the better, so that I can save all of my partying energy for Friday.

Friday is probably not going to be this big event that my mind envisions. Most of the town will have left by then and the few friends remaining are such a strange hodge-podge of people that I�d be the only tie. I know that AC promised that she�d come back to E.L. after work on Friday (since she�s finishes tomorrow) and join me. Other than that, it�s up to whomever else wants to come. I�m up for a good time if anyone else is, heh.

Well then�.there�s the other thing.

I believe I�ve already mentioned the former classmate that I�m kinda attracted to and how I invited him. I thought he said, �yeah ok� only as something he was considering. It turns out that he sent me an email today (a response to some group email I sent out) and reminded me that he�d be there.

Now, I don�t get nervous, so this doesn�t bother me. I just feel so �blah� about it. I seriously doubt that he�s looking for anything other than some fun at the bar, and I don�t want to make it out to be any more.

Yet dumbass me and my mind�.I keep thinking that it could possibly mean more�.

Stop! Stop! I need to stop!

Alright, it�s time for pilates!

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral