Thursday, May 23, 2002 10:24 a.m.

All I want is some damn peace.

After all this is supposed to be a break right? A break from the stresses of school, homework, exams, and finals�..

So why the hell is it that everyone has to get on my case?

You�ve all heard my references to the boss from hell that I work for. Well, yesterday, he only topped himself by telling us two hours before he was leaving for a day and a half trip out of the state. Not only did he surprise us with the news that he was leaving, he also added that we had 36 tests to do (and these aren�t like five minute tests). Of course we were supposed to magically already know how to do them as well as compete with (more) important clients for the barrier test lab.

In plain English: my boss, the asshole, decides to spring on us that he�s leaving the state two hours before he leaves (even though he�s known about it for weeks) and he decides to leave his work with us. We, being interns, have no authority when it comes to the lab people, so when they have to run a crash test, we�re just SOL.

We have about two hours today (after they�re through running the crash test) to use the lab and run 36 tests on two cars that have no brake fluid and we have no solid blueprint on how to run them.

Something tells me that I�m going to be screamed at tomorrow.

At least with him gone, I get to take a lunch and read and sleep in my car under this beautiful weather.

The ever so tiring quest for finances for college continues.

I�ll give you a brief history: my parents are divorced. My parents hate each other. My parents are splitting the cost of college. My mother paid for my first two years of college with books and I went into $2500 worth of debt each year to cover the extra expenses. During this time, my father was saving up for my last two years and had practically achieved the $20000 mark when the stock market crashed and (I believe) we lost about $8,000. Therefore, to cover the incurring loss, I had to go into $5000 worth of debt last year, and as far as I know, I�m continuing the debt next year.

My mother is a control freak. When the burden of paying for college left her hands and went to her father, she went into the financial equivalent mode of a backseat driver, which, of course, drives my father crazy. She spent the entire summer bugging me about how my father was going to pay for college, and, of course, she won�t ask him because they hate each other.

I swear that sometimes my parents act like the most bratty children.

�He should call me, why should I call him?�

�Have your mother call me, I shouldn�t have to call her.�

My mother�s nagging caused great friction between her and me, and in turn when I asked my father what was going on, started friction between him and me.

I thought that by showing my mother that my father paid for last year, minus my loan, on time and in full would be enough to make her back down.

Well, my summer class threw a monkey wrench in the whole thing.

Apparently, to take one class at Oakland University, it costs a total of $820.

It�s something like $560 for the tuition and then a whole shitload of (pointless) fees: course fees, general service fees, rec center fees.

Well, my father does not have the full amount of money to pay for that class and I can almost understand why. We were expecting something like $500 (my mother was thinking $400 and I don�t think she quite understands that Oakland is not a community college). My mother agreed to pay for half and I agreed to investigate these fees more thoroughly.

Well, today, my mother is flipping out about my father giving the full amount that I need for my apartment and living expenses next year, which he said that he would pay for with a Home Equity Loan. I trust that he will get to it, but my mother doesn�t.

�Ask your father when he�s going to the bank to apply for the loan.�

She doesn�t seem to understand that bugging people only makes them angry and less likely to do things. Not only this, but she expects me to be the one who does the bugging. I told her today that I�m not going to start a fight with my dad, especially after a long day of work in which I�m going to have to live in fear that tomorrow B, the Boss, is going to tell me how irresponsible I am again.

I don�t understand why she thinks that my father would be such a deadbeat that he would not get the money and say, �Oh well� to me by screwing me over on my last year of college. Even if we think of this logically from the (her) point of view that my father is a deadbeat when it comes to money: he�s not going to screw me over in my last year and force me to live at home (with him).

When I told my mother that if she had concerns, she could bring them up directly with him, her response was, �We don�t talk.�

Well guess what then, your concerns with my father are not my business.

I then told my mother that I didn�t need any more problems. I told her that I already have to deal with a nasty, overbearing boss, 2-3 hours of traffic a day, my own bills, my own projects, and that I don�t need to be her little sidekick nag to go bother my father so I can argue with him too. I want peace.

Her response was, �Well, I just want you to know that I don�t have the money to cover you if he falls through again. So I guess you�ll just have to drop out of college.�

I think my mother also fails to see that it�s only May and that my dad has plenty of time to get his Home Equity Loan and that I�m not going to have to drop out of college, but I always do enjoy her ever-so-pleasant pessimistic outlook on life. Life doesn�t need to have 12 backup plans in case the first one fails. In fact, you probably spend more time coming up with back up plans than you do actually enjoying life and in the end, the first plan probably would have worked.

My mother isn�t very efficient.

Come on people, give me peace. All I want to do is take my days one step at a time so that I can get through this hellish summer in one piece. Right now, all I want to do is get through the first half of my work day with some productivity, enjoy a leisurely lunch in my car reading, finish the testing, and go home. Maybe I�ll play Diablo 2 again. Maybe I�ll play with my kitten. Maybe I�ll take a bath and read some more, but jesus, do I have to know right this second my dad�s exact financial logistics for the next four months?

Can�t I have a simple life for once?

Can�t my biggest worry be where I�m going to spend my upcoming 21st birthday?

Speaking of which, does anyone have any suggestions? I know the obvious suggestion is a bar, but if I plan on going out with some of my closest friends, unless the bar is 18 and over, there�s going to be a problem. I love that at school, I was too young to go out with my friends and now, at home, they�re too young to go out with me. Then, of course, I can�t really get blatantly drunk because I have to work the next day.

Suggestions please (none that have drama involved)?

I need peace.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral