Sunday, May. 25, 2003 1:12 a.m.

I often wonder about the things that will make me happy.

I know that money can�t buy you happiness, but it sure as hell can come close. If I had an unlimited bank account, I could try every hobby until I found the one that I liked. I could collect things until I found a collection worth researching and putting effort into.

I mean, I often question before making a large purchase if the item is something I really need. Often times, it is not. When it is not a necessity, I often ask myself if this is the thing that will make me happy.

I thought that the gym membership would make me happy, but it wasn�t enough. Soon, I wanted to take spinning classes. Then, I wanted a personal trainer. Then I bought a whole bunch of equipment to use while at home. I mean, it�s not like I�m not happy with my current gym membership (classes are free and there are a lot more machines), but that was not the secret to eternal happiness.

Working out is a hobby and a quest of mine, but it is still not something that lifts me up for the entire day. I feel great while doing it and usually after, but it doesn�t keep a smile on my face.

I often wondered if books would do the trick. I love to read. I love the feeling of a new book, but I can only spend so much time reading.

I�ve tried many �things� and no one thing can keep me happy. No one thing can prevent me from spending even more money buying things. It�s not that I�m unhappy in life, but I duly understand how one can become a slave to possessions.

I mean, a car is a perfect example. In order to drive yourself around to buy more things, you have to have a car. With the car comes maintenance. The same situation occurs with a house. If you buy a house with a 30 year mortgage, you often end up paying double or sometimes triple the amount the house actually cost. Then you put in furniture, cabinets, floors, carpeting, wallpaper, blinds, paint�.etc.

I don�t think that any one thing exists in the world to make people happy. I don�t necessarily think that people, themselves, are unhappy, but they are always searching for the one thing that will make the difference�or justifying their spending habits by saying that they�ve found the one thing.

We are all slaves to the possessions we own. We work to buy them, but they end up owning us.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral