Monday, May. 26, 2003 11:32 a.m.

Ahhh�so many things that I want to buy.

I realize that this comes as an ironic surprise as compared to my last entry, but the realization that I�ll be making pretty good money is enough to get my desires going.

Yesterday, I bought myself a new PDA, as mine was really old, sucked up batteries, and was black and white. The new one has eight times the memory that my old one had, and it even allows me to view Word and Excel files, which will prove useful on my new job.

There were issues, however, when I tried to install Outlook onto my laptop. R, the Life Floater, came over after work to work on my computer(s). While he was working on my mother�s computer, we were talking about the upgrades that I�m going to make to my PC when I finally move out for good.

All that talk got me salivating for the computer that I�ll eventually buy.

Every day there is something that I want to buy that I usually put on the back burner until I can afford it. Yesterday was the exception, and I truly feel that I need the Pocket PC for work. I can�t really remember all of the things that I decide to put down, but I assume it�s a good thing that I put them back. I mean, if I can�t remember what it was that I wanted later on, then I guess I didn�t really need it, huh?

I�m watching this Law and Order episode about this black girl that was allegedly raped by white cops. It turned into a media frenzy, but the rape was a hoax, as the girl was too afraid to tell her father that she was pregnant by her boyfriend.

The point of the episode was to address the unhappiness of the citizens of New York (circa 1993) with the justice system. Was it racist? Was it truly unequal toward those of minority status?

I can�t even begin to discuss an issue that size, but it reminded me of something that I seem to encounter too much in my own life. I know too many people who are racist. I don�t understand how people can judge an entire group of people based on the actions of a few. I mean, I�m not immune to this; there is a particular group of people that I generally don�t like, but it�s not one of the �typical� minorities that most refer to. Anyway, I don�t like that I�m like that, and I hope that future encounters with that group can be free of the taint that I feel toward them.

I don�t like how my family speaks about black people though. Cousin D and his wife F are particularly irritating when it comes to talking about their black neighbors. I don�t like that they act �ghetto� but then try to act better than the black people they share their neighborhood with. They�re definitely no princes themselves, so I don�t understand how they can feel better than anyone.

My father�s family kinda has the same attitude, but I feel their attitude is not out of superiority, but more of ignorance. My uncle and aunt live on an isolated mountain and grew up in a very small town of white people. The entire town has a terrible attitude and my uncle never left to experience the world. My father�s sister, who lives in California, definitely has had more experience with the world, but I think she chose to keep herself limited to her Caucasian friends.

I don�t like what they were saying about my father�s girlfriend. I�m not sure if I went into what they were talking about the day that they all left, but the focus was mainly on his girlfriend (who is black).

I realize that the reasons that they don�t like her aren�t limited to her skin color, but they seem to justify their dislike with that reason.

We were all sitting around my father�s kitchen table, sipping coffee, when my aunt (my father�s sister�not my uncle�s wife) said that she needed to have a talk with my father with regard to his choice in women. She said that she had the perfect woman for him out in California. Then, it became a free for all.

My father�s girlfriend was lazy; she didn�t help clean up or prepare any of the food for the party. She didn�t do anything other than drink the liquor and eat the food. She only brought hot wings and brownies. She�s using my father. Her family is inconsiderate.

Then, completely out of nowhere, one of them said, �Yeah, but what do you expect out of a black person.�

What the hell?

First of all, none of their opinions of her actions were justified. I mean, why should she interfere in a family party? My relatives can be pretty demanding when it comes to the way they want things done. However, to justify all of these bad qualities as if, �What can you expect?� is just total bullshit.

I can understand not liking someone because of their actions, whether the actions really happened or not is another story. I can�t understand looking for things that aren�t there to find something wrong with someone simply because he or she is black�or any minority for that matter. If I stopped liking �races� (according to my genetics professor, race doesn�t exist) based on the actions of a few, I don�t think I�d like any race�especially Caucasians.

Now let�s see if I can connect to the internet for more than two minutes�.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral