Thursday, May. 16, 2002 12:08 p.m.

Alright, I know that it has been forever and a day, but for some odd reason without my computer glowing in the corner of my dorm room calling me to it, I don�t really find the desire to connect and write out a new entry.

Brief summary:

After K, the Sorceress, and I met up on the Friday that I arrived home, we talked a bit and looked at her pictures before going to bed where I needed to catch up on sleep and she needed to adjust to the time zone. We got up the next morning for what I had been waiting for for almost a half year, the adoption of my new kitty. We went to the zoo where there was this massive adoption fair going on and I could hardly believe the number of shelters that had showed up: at least thirty. I picked out a male rambunctious kitten as quickly as possible for everyone and their uncle was adopting kittens within a snap. Then came the fun part of waiting in line to be �approved� for adoption and paying. Eventually, I had my hands on my little kitty who was crying in his new cardboard home as we carried him to the car.

He cried and cried and cried to the point where I thought I�d made a mistake, but after he was in the house for a few hours, he started playing.

Now, my only hope is that he doesn�t get mad at my everyday absence from him while I�m at work. We had spend the week that I took off together and he�s gotten used to sleeping in my bed and knows that I�m the one who feeds him. My mother even loved him.

The next big event to come along was K�s �Welcome Home Party� in which I invited a bunch of people I, myself, hadn�t seen since high school and a few of her college friends. The week was slightly stressful in trying to track down everyone and get solid answers on their attendance as well as procuring food, cake, and entertainment. When the day arrived, I realized that the major road that was the main way to my dad�s was closed down and I would have to call everyone to tell them an alternate route. Alas, the action proved to be doubly successful for I found out who was attending and who wasn�t.

I have a few things to say about that.

First, if you get an email that says, �PLEASE RESPOND TO LET ME KNOW IF YOU ARE COMING,� the obvious thing to do is to respond. I don�t understand why people can�t take four or five minutes to return an email. Seriously, how sad has our society gotten that emails aren�t returned, let alone phone calls and traditional letters? It�s pretty pathetic how disrespectful the average person is.

Second, if you say that you are going to attend, um�..it�d be nice to know in advance and not four hours in, that you�re suddenly not.

Third, again with saying you�re going to attend and then not, it�s also not kosher to say that you will attend and bring a guest, and then not show up.

Think about it people, I spent my own money on food, cake, and games. Therefore, when I have a target idea of how many people are attending, I can accommodate that amount of people without wasting any more of my time or money.

I know that this was just an informal little gathering, but I mentioned in the email at least two ways of getting ahold of me for a reason.

Well, strangely enough, K was the first person to show and this was not a surprise party by any means; it just seemed strange that the person for whom the party was for was the first to arrive. Obviously, this wasn�t anyone�s fault, but it was kinda ironic. I was pleasantly surprised, however, by the timeliness of everyone�s arrival considering that I had known these people back in high school.

It turned out to be a lovely gathering. We played games, talked, and my kitten (whose name is now Bandit) was the adorable center of attention. Thankfully, he turned out to be a people cat and is not afraid of large crowds, but rather embraces them. It was absolutely incredible to catch up with everyone and see them all after so much time. Hopefully, someone will have an entire MMSTC high school gathering at some point in the summer so I can run into everyone else.

I was somewhat disappointed at the lack of attendance of K�s college friends though. I can�t possibly think of any reason as to why none of them showed or even returned my emails. I mean, with the initial idea, I did get responses, but when I emailed the time/date/place/contact information: nada. I shouldn�t be disappointed, I know, but I was trying my best here to make a grand party for K. I wish that I could get some kind of explanation from them. I did get an explanation from Adobogirl which did not really appease me at all. The party started at 7:00 pm and I got an IM at 11:00 pm from her with her explanation. I can understand a couple of the things that prevented her attendance, but what I just don�t seem to get is why I wasn�t alerted to these �problems� earlier so that alternate arrangements could be made. Again, I stress that I had left at least two ways of contacting me in my email: my phone number and my email address, and then there was the way that she ultimately contacted me: IM. I was online through my phone all day and all night. I dunno why I�m even all that bent about this, but it just pisses me off when people either give me the brush off or act irresponsibly when it comes to my endeared friends.

Oh well, I�m sure that I don�t even know the whole story about her no show, so enough of that.

Lucky me, I began work this week.

I realized something funny though: my dad told me that if I hated my job as much as I do there are other alternatives. Granted these �other alternatives� do not look as good on my resume as my current job does, but jesus, Costco cashiers get paid $16 an hour? That�s more than I make as an intern in a cushy office job and forgive me, it seems ridiculous.

As does some people�s extreme behavior when it comes to the cult of Star Wars. I was listening to the radio yesterday and it turns out that this guy changed his name three years ago when Episode 1 came out to �Obi-Wan Kenobi.�

Legally.

He said that he�d consider changing it back if he met a woman that didn�t want to be known as Mrs. Kenobi.

What�s wrong with people?

Well, also, to prove that he was the biggest Star Wars fan of all, this guy also signed up yesterday to change his name to Mace Windu�The baddest Jedi in the Galaxy. I guess it was supposed to work out to Mace The Baddest Jedi in the Galaxy Windu, first name, middle name, last name respectively. He did this for free Star Wars tickets and $1000.

I can understand the greed factor here, but he was actually excited about it.

What would you change your name for for $1000?

One of my coworkers told me that she saw on TV or something about how a TV show offered some guy $200 to put a tattoo on him wherever and whatever they wanted.

This is permanent, you idiot.

They put a tattoo on his leg with an arrow pointing up his leg with the words, �Size doesn�t matter.�

Idiot.

That $200 wouldn�t even cover the cost of the removal he�s probably going to pay for later.

Sweet Jesus, I get to go home in 4 hours�.Thank God.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral