Monday, Aug. 05, 2002 1:05 p.m.

Oh, the joys of a familial WW3.

I�ve realized that even if all three of the participants are adults, almost invariably, two will act like children.

I was the odd one out.

More on this later�

So Friday was B, the Boss� last day before he took off for gay old Paris. I will not be seeing him again before I leave for my sanctuary, school. I was torn between Rainbow Randalling out into the parking lot or staying quiet so he did not know that I hated him.

I opted for option number 1.

You see, we had our �performance reviews� on Friday as well. I�ve never had a performance review from B. The only reason he started them was to show AC, the Coworker�s father that he had some control over us.

Go AC�s dad! Yeah�

Well, AC and AD came back relatively unscathed, so I thought it was safe. Both had gotten really decent reviews and were happy about them. I thought that I would be the same.

Oh, man oh man, was I ever wrong.

I sat down and the first words B said were, �You�re older. You�ve been here longer. We�re going to treat this as if it were a peer review, not a student review.�

In other words, he decided to treat me like an engineer. I�m not sure if this was a compliment or not. Frankly, I don�t need people to constantly prep me for the �real world�. I would have been happy to have been treated like the others.

Well, as fate would have it, I was not in store for such an easy ride. He criticized the way I reacted to things, the way that I stay quiet when I�m thoughtful, the way that I attack projects, the way that I get along with everyone else�

Wait, let me go into more depth about that one.

There was a category called �teamwork� on the form that asked about how we got along with our teammembers. Well my teammembers are AC and AD. We all get along great. Well, they both got �Exceeds Expectations� whereas I got �Meets Expectations�.

He even told me that we scored the same, but he was going to mark me lower because I was being graded as a peer.

What the hell is that?

Anyway, after that was finished, I decided to just go home early. Screw it huh? He had already left. What was the point in staying?

He had discussed with me my options when I graduate. Do I want to work here? What kind of work do I want to do? Would I want to work with him?

When he asked me if I wanted to work with him, I hesitated. I said that I would prefer not to work in this group. It wasn�t just because of him, but it was because I don�t feel that I�m ready for research and development. In order for me to develop new systems, I think I need to know how the old systems work.

I think that was very prudent of me.

B said something like, �Well since you�ve been here for three years and showed loyalty, well�.we take care of own.�

I guess that means in a roundabout way that I got a job offer.

Well, JG, the No Longer Lost, invited me to see Signs later that night and I, in turn, invited K, the Sorceress. We met at the theater at 8:00 thinking that since the show was running every half hour, it wouldn�t be a problem.

Well, apparently every fifteen year old in Macomb County had nothing better to do that day, other than see Signs and hang out in front of the theater in his or her respective hoochie clothes. So we arrived at 8:00 and we got tickets to the 9:55 show. We decided to go to the BW3�s that was just around the block.

The intention was to go to the bar after the show, but I figured that it would be too late at that time. I didn�t mind too terribly about being liquored up before seeing the movie. Besides, the movie would give me plenty of time to sober up to drive home.

So after about an hour in the bar, two Long Islands, and one Pineapple juice and Coconut rum later, I was ready for the movie.

That movie

was so

SCARY!

The music was terrific at setting the mood, plus there are a lot of bits and pieces instead of seeing the whole scary part at once. I was so scared that my legs were shaking at the end.

After I had driven home, I RAN from my car to the my door and slammed the door behind me. I was so afraid of seeing aliens creeping about my house.

Of course, I had nightmares.

Eh, I have an exam to study for, so I�ll have to continue the weekend in another entry. Ciao kids.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral