Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2004 2:18 p.m.

There�s this online debate going on with regard to whether or not this 18 year old female should have her mother buy her a $700 prom dress.

I was surprised that a majority of the adults who answered the question, responded by saying that since her mother was willing the front the money, she should go for it. Whatever happened to working hard for the things that you want?

I don�t entirely blame the girl. I mean, after all, it�s pretty much her parents� fault for encouraging her that money means nothing in the world. However, there is a point where your parents are no longer responsible for you, and a point where you should take control of your own situation to learn about the value of money�no matter how spoiled you were when you grew up.

If my mother were to say, �Oh, okay, here�s $700 to buy a prom dress�, I�d almost feel badly for just asking. That�s $700 of her money that, although she wanted to see me happy, could have been spent in a much better way. Even if my parents had the money to spare, I�m sure that they�d balk at the idea of me spending $700 on a dress and would make me earn it on my own.

No, instead, a majority of people were telling her to do it. And why do you think that is? I think it�s because they�re around my age, hence part of the generation that was incredibly spoiled by the baby boomers. They see something, they want it, they charge it.

They have horrible attitudes about life and they believe that they are just entitled to things because of their sheer existence.

They are the people who raise their kids today to believe that they don�t ever do anything wrong. If anyone disagrees with you, they�re wrong, nevermind their side of the story or viewpoint. They are the generation that thumbs their noses at the concept of voting, because they�re too busy loading up their house on unaffordable plasma screens, fully loaded SUV�s, and enough debt to sink the entire country. I would hate to see the day that the credit card companies come knocking for their debts to be paid off.

So yes, spoiling has done a wonderful deed for our country. People spend too much money on stupid shit, they�re in debt in unbelievable precedents, they could care less about what�s going along, as long as they have those shiny rims, and they�re nasty to boot.

How does it all start? By buying someone a $700 prom dress.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral