Friday, Feb. 28, 2003 10:45 a.m.

I�m still pretty mad considering I�ve had two days to sleep on this.

Obviously, I�m not in Florida. That is a story in itself.

At ten at night on Wednesday, I was pretty much all packed. In fact, my bags were in my car already. AC IMs me and says, �I talked to my brother and New Orleans is only 5 hours away from Panama City. We�re going to Mardi Gras!�

She goes on to tell me that we�re going to take a tent and if we can�t find a campground, we�re going to sleep in the van.

Now, I realize that some of you out there would actually enjoy going to Mardi Gras, but I have no interest in it whatsoever. Obviously, it�s going to be crowded, too crowded to be able to find a place to stay or even hang out in. I don�t particularly want to stay in a van, not with that amount of people around. It�s crowded, everyone is drunk, and it�s not safe. I also didn�t really like the idea of staying in a van with no bathroom, no place to wash my face, no place to brush my teeth. And, of course, I don�t like the thought of driving another 12 hours after driving the initial 18 to get there.

I said, �I don�t know. Maybe we should get down there and decide as a group what to do.�

Then, AC went off about how she�d want to go no matter what. I told her that at this point, I wasn�t interested in going. She told me that I could stay behind in the campground at Panama City. Therefore, I�d either have to pay money [4 tanks of gas and food] to go to a place that I don�t want to go or stay back at a campground with no transportation.

I told her how unfair she was being. After all, it was my trip too. She hasn�t let me have input on anything. Originally, the trip was supposed to be just the two of us going to Toronto. Then she wanted to see her sister, who is stationed in Georgia, so the trip changed to Panama City. Then she can�t afford a hotel, so we�re camping. Then she invites her friend. Then she invites her brother. Then her sister invites friends. Then she changes the day we�re supposed to leave to come home. Then we�re going to Mardi Gras.

I didn�t have a problem with most of it until she mentioned that her brother was coming and her sister was bringing friends. I mean, her brother is a very violent drunk and he�s very particular about where he will go. What if we wanted to go to a club and he didn�t? I was sure that AC would yield to him and we�d be stuck doing whatever he wanted all week. Then, I don�t even know her sister�s friends. I mean, they were going to be sleeping awfully close to me and were they even going to pay?

AC reassured me that we�d leave the day that I wanted to and her sister�s friends were just an option. I started to calm a little, but Mardi Gras was the last straw. I mean, AC was being a spoiled brat. She didn�t seem to get that changing the plans at the last minute requires a bit more discussion then just �We�re going and if you don�t like it, you can stay at the campground.� Then, instead of listening to my concerns, she just kept repeating, �What is the big deal? Why don�t you want to go?�

I mean, why wouldn�t anyone want to do what AC wanted to do?

I tried compromising. If they really really needed to go to Mardi Gras, then let�s leave the day I want to. This was her response: �I want to leave on Saturday, so we�re going to leave on Saturday!�

My god, she sounded like a four year old. She was screaming at me the whole time. Then, after two hours of arguing, I just said, �Fine, whatever you want� in resignation. Then she had the nerve of saying, �You�re going to go and you�re going to enjoy it.�

That was about it for me. I told her that I wasn�t going. Obviously, my friendship is not worth enough to her to consider other options. I realized after that, that I haven�t been getting much back with regards to the friendship, at least compared to what I�ve been putting in.

I don�t need someone like that in my life. I have better things to do than argue with stubborn children who seem to think that the world revolves around them.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral