Saturday, Apr. 12, 2003 11:22 a.m.

I just finished watching the second half of some high school, teen movie on comedy central. It�s got the same theme as all the others. Guy is best friends with girl. Girl starts to go out with popular guy. Best guy friend does stupid things to win popular girl. Girl and Guy both seem happy. Guy realizes he has feelings for Girl. Guy dumps popular girl and does silly things to try and make Girl realize that her new, popular boyfriend is scum. Girl realizes at last moment and ends up with Guy.

It was entertaining, like all the others [She�s All That, Drive Me Crazy], but very unrealistic. I love how all the girls look like they�re 25 and get to wear skimpy, revealing clothing to school. It�s no wonder that 15 year olds today dress like hookers and think it�s okay.

Anyway, the point I was on my way to before I got derailed, was that no one acts like that in high school. Hell, none of the guys I�ve ever seen act like that in college. AC, the Coworker, once told me when she was complaining to her father about how stupid college guys were, that her father told her at this point in our lives, guys just don�t care about relationships and whatnot. I know that�s not the case with every guy, but most of them are being honest when they say they �just wanna have fun�. I think there have even been studies about how girls mature faster than guys. I don�t know if there�s a biological reason that women feel the need to settle down, or if it�s some kind of social reason, but it seems to be true.

With how socially demanding and just plain evil, high school is today, I seriously doubt that any guy would jump on stage and play, of all things, the accordion to get the attention of his potential sweetheart. He would be committing social suicide. I feel like such an ass by saying this, but guys at that age are either clueless or don�t care about how to impress girls.

I don�t think guys at my age know how to impress girls either. I actually think that I liked the high school guys better than the college guys that I�ve met. I guess alcohol dulls the brain.

No, I don�t want you to come home with me. No, I don�t want you to sit down at my table. No, I don�t want you to buy me a drink [unless you�re going to buy it and then go away].

I guess you�d have to be in my position to understand what I mean. I mean, in the past week, outside of classes, I�ve seen stupid drunk guys running around naked, stupid drunk guys pounding on doors, stupid drunk guys throwing things at people, stupid drunk guys pissing everywhere�.I�m sorry if you�re a guy and you�re offended, but man�you guys need to clean up your gender.

Of course�.on the flip side, you can see tons of stupid drunk girls flashing people, stupid drunk girls getting into catfights, stupid drunk girls ready and willing to sleep with any guy that crosses their path�

Even with all the stupid drama, high school seemed better than that. But�.I don�t think I�d want to go back to high school just yet. I think I�d rather just be where I am: about three weeks away from getting away from all the stupid drunk people.

If you�re going to be drunk, the least you can do is be funny�not stupid. Although, off the top of my head, I can�t seem to think of anything particularly funny�oh wait! I thought it was pretty funny that one Halloween where I couldn�t stop talking in an English accent, or when I used my fairy wand as a stick to roast marshmallows. I wasn�t irritating anyone. I wasn�t naked. I was funny.

Hopefully, tonight, will be a lighthearted, funny night�not some stupid drunk night. We�ll see.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral