Wednesday, Dec. 04, 2002 11:38 p.m.

I feel ashamed of my generation.

I�m not going to pretend that I�m this intellectual who hosts wine and cheese parties. I can get just as flaky as the next girl. However, I have some class, unlike the girl I�m going to talk about.

I was sitting in TC today, reading my US News and taking in as much information as I could whilst leaving it as background ambiance. One of my capstone group members was sitting next to me, talking to me about our project when someone�s cell phone rang.

Now, I�m taking this class as a blow off because I need a few credit fillers. The class is about 500 people big and it�s mostly all freshmen. Therefore, since freshmen are mostly stupid, at least two or three phones ring each time class goes on.

This girl, this particular girl, actually answered her phone and had a conversation. Everyone was turning around to glare at her, and I was hoping that her friend would nudge her into leaving or turning off her phone. No such luck. Instead, her friend said in a very vacant voice, �everybody�s staring at you� and laughed. These were the same girls who couldn�t add their scores together to figure out what they had in the class.

They�re probably TC majors to boot.

My group member and I were trying to figure it out. Is there any reason why you would have to answer the phone during a lecture? He came up with the idea that if you were the father of someone�s baby, you might need to answer it, but you could still get your ass up and go out in the hall to answer it.

Apparently this girl�s ass was stuck to the seat because I didn�t even see her strain her legs.

I�ve noticed that though. No matter where you go, someone is on the phone. I often see people on the phone waiting at the bus stop, chattering away. Some even have those really annoying phones with the two-way messaging so that everyone can hear their conversation.

I mean, how rude have we, as a society, gotten so that we need to make sure everyone hears our conversation? Seriously. I don�t understand it. Why wouldn�t you want your privacy? I certainly do. I don�t even like answering my phone in someone else�s presence, let alone a bus full.

I swear that if I didn�t rely on technology so much, I would hate it. Cell phones are just another clue as to how stupid we, as a people, have gotten because of the onset of technology. It�s getting ridiculous. How important do you think you are at 20 years old?

Ugh they disgust me. They all disgust me.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral