Wednesday, Mar. 26, 2003 10:39 a.m.

Oh I hate when I get too distracted to take care of things�

Last night, I think I broke the scale at the gym. I weighed ten pounds more than I did before spinning. Obviously, that�s not even possible, especially with the spinning class that I had.

We had some kind of real-live drill instructor.

I�ve never been given laps for insubordination before.

Somehow, under pressure, I agreed to sign up for kickboxing before spinning next Tuesday. That�s going to be a two and a half hour workout.

Oh well.

Let�s see�what�s been going on in the past week?

Well, I went to the doctor and I�m dangerously nearing a hole in my stomach from all the coffee I drink and stress I�ve been under [among other things]. Apparently, I have to cut back on stress and coffee. That would be great�would the doctor like to find me a job?

I went to K, the Sorceress� brother�s party on Saturday. It wasn�t bad, but it wasn�t all that much fun. I�m just not interested in getting obliterated anymore, but everyone at the party seemed all for it. Well, in all fairness, it was a post-St. Patrick�s day party, but I don�t know�..getting drunk doesn�t seem to have any perks to it anymore. Well�.that�.and it will only hurt my stomach more�.

Anyway, I don�t seem to understand why people fixate on the fact that I wear �name brand� clothes. That�s the second time someone�s done that.

Look�.first of all, none of my clothes are ever bought full price. Second of all, it all balances out. I�m in debt 18 grand for school, some people go for free. Some people�s parents pay for school. Some people are more in debt than I am. I�m in credit card debt from mistakes I made a couple of years ago, some people are not. So while I don�t leave the country, others may go to Europe, Asia, the Caribbean, etc.

It all balances out.

I realize that I�m luckier than most, being as that I don�t usually work during the school year. However, I don�t think everyone would want to spend a summer in my shoes, working for the most evil boss in the world. Quite frankly, not everyone can handle what I had to do all summer. Finally, not everyone has the background to do what I do. So while I work all summer for a decently high pay, a lot of my friends have to work all year round�but get the benefits of having a relatively stress-less summer.

I�m not even sure I want to hear people bitch to me about having to work. I�ve been working since I was 11�40 hours a week [or more] during the summers since I was 12. I�ve paid my dues, and I haven�t had a break to travel the world, or even really take a vacation.

It�s hard for people in my major to work during the school year. I know that some manage it, but they have very very forgiving bosses. Between having 3 hour labs, three or four meetings a week, and homework that most wouldn�t even dream of, a lot of us don�t have the time for it. I realize that other majors have homework [and it�s hard to them], but you would have to see what kind of homework that I have before going off on me about how hard yours is.

Alright, I�m done. I realize that I haven�t exactly been fair in my above paragraphs, but I don�t appreciate it when people go off on me and act like I�m some kind of all-mighty princess when they don�t know what my daily life is like [and strangely enough, I thought they did].

Needless to say, I miss certain people that I used to see quite a bit. However, if I haven�t seen you in months and months, there�s absolutely no reason to go off on me about the clothes I wear upon seeing me for the first time. I�m sorry that your parents aren�t as giving as mine are, but my mom has the extra income [until she�s laid off] and believes in spending it. Like I said, it all balances out in the end. So while you think you got the crappier end of the bargain, who knows what may be waiting for you around the corner? There�s no reason to treat friends that way. I realize that no one is perfect, and I am far far far from one who doesn�t covet thy neighbor�s anything, but I try to keep my disdain in check while around the �offending� person�especially if that person is a good friend of mine.

Now that I got that off my chest, I don�t know if you�ll still be interested in visiting before you go, but you�re welcome to. I want you to.

My cell phone has been off since Sunday. This guy at the party was kinda interested in me, and don�t ask me why, but I gave him my phone number. He was nice, but his comments regarding his homophobia, his blatantly pro-war attitude, and his technological handicap really turned me off. He was a nice guy, but definitely not my type. Actually, at this point, I don�t think my phone has any batteries and I think I left the charger at home. It�s so wonderful that I pay $55 a month for this service�..

I�m not looking forward to the project that I have coming up. As I said above, most engineering majors are very very busy regarding school. Since I have only one engineering class, I�m about a quarter as busy as I used to be. This, of course, gives me plenty of time to work out, cook, and search for jobs, but it also gives me the added effect of enjoying free time too much. When I get a job, I�m obviously not going to have this much time, but more pressing is that I have my major project coming up�and I think it�s due in only three weeks. This means that my group and I have to get our asses in gear, which also means that I�m going to have to return back to the old habits of being at the lab three or four times a week, not understanding at all what�s going on.

Ugh����.

Then, it�s all blissfully over. I don�t want it to be blissfully over. I want to go back to having this much free time and the excuse that I�m in school so that I don�t have to get some kind of �filler� job.

Speaking of which, I suppose I should get back to studying�

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral