Tuesday, Jul. 23, 2002 2:51 p.m.

Hmmm�

So far over the PA system I�ve heard �Bilbo Baggins�, �Telletubby�, �Mike�s Sweater�, �Chris Rock�, and �Jim Carrey� paged.

It�s just one of those small things that brightens up my days: the fact that people mumble over the PA system and so who they�re actually paging becomes someone else. I�ve thought I heard �Bruce Wayne� the other day too.

I guess Mommy and I are going �shopping� today.

I really don�t like shopping.

I was told by one of the engineers that I might want to dress more �sharply� when we do presentations because I�m the one who is graduating and I need to leave with a good impression.

Ok, not a problem, as long as it doesn�t cost too much. However, my mom doesn�t know what �sharply� means, and since I�m not a fashion guru, neither do I.

�What does he mean �sharply�?�

�I dunno.�

�What�s wrong with how you dress now?�

�I dunno, it�s kinda casual, don�t you think?�

�So how do you need to dress?�

�I don�t know, you�re the clothes person, you tell me.�

�What are you looking for?�

�Um�something�.dressier?�

�What does that mean?�

�Uh�.give me suggestions?�

It went on like this for at least ten minutes. I dunno what �more formal� means. I know that it means that I shouldn�t be wearing khakis, a t-shirt, and sandals though.

I wish that my prof would post our test grades on the web. That�s just something I got used to at State. Every teacher would post answers to homework and exam scores on the web. This prof didn�t even list an email address on her methods of contact. So, if I have a question for her, I have to call during the day to get ahold of her. She also does not have an answering machine, so there�s no way that I can leave my question and hope that she�ll get back to me. You have to catch her while she�s there, which is somewhat nerve-wracking.

On another note, Bandit, I swear, must be the smartest cat in existence�.

�.well�smartest and most devious.

My mom has an assortment of Beanie Babies that she gets from her sister for various occasions such as birthdays or Christmas. They�re mostly beanie cats that look like Cleo and Trouble, but a few of them are like the Millennium Bear, a lion, and a moose. They�re all over the house, usually in high up places in which Trouble can�t get to. Well, earlier this week, I noticed Bandit on top of the TV in the family room. The beanies are on top of the TV, but the top part of the entertainment center is about four inches higher than the TV. I saw him lean on his back legs and put his front feet on the TV and knock the beanies off.

Every time I saw this, I put them back. Well, one time he got them before I saw him do it and he ran off with them in his mouth and hid them somewhere.

One by one, the beanies on my bookshelf have started to disappear. First went the ostrich, then the lamb, then the lion�.

Well, one morning I caught him jump from my bed to the shelf that was at the same height. He leaves his back legs on the lower shelf and puts his front legs on the higher shelf. Then he�ll grab them by his teeth and run off with them.

Finally, the beanies on my mother�s book case are disappearing too. I saw him with his hind legs on the coffee table and the front balancing on the edge of the bookshelf. He grabbed those with his teeth and ran off with them.

One day I followed him. He had the entire collection in a circle under my mom�s bed and he laid in the center of the circle, purring. I�m not sure if he thought that he was hunting them or if they were his friends, but he was quite content with himself.

My mom, on the other hand, was pissed off (not really, but kinda, do you get it?). She was afraid that her sister would get mad about the cat taking her gifts. My mom bought Bandit a couple toys to distract him with, but it didn�t work so well.

So yesterday, she figured out that maybe if she put it in a place that he�d have to steal it from, he�d want it. It worked too.

Also, the other day, she saw him run off with dollar bills from her room and hide them in mine.

That could be a very useful trick, heh.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral