Saturday, Apr. 13, 2002 12:02 a.m.

You are the Dragon. In medieval Europe, dragons were considered mostly evil and a generally bad omen. Christianity linked the dragon with Satan because of the dragon's snake-like appearance. However, to the Orient cultures the dragon was a symbol of wisdom and royalty. It was a benign animal and the fifth creature of the Chinese zodiac. It resided over the east and the sunrise. It was also said to bring rain and the springtime. The dragon is interesting because it combines all four elements: air, earth, fire, and water. It could fly, had the horns of a ox, breathed fire, and resided over the moon.

What mythical beast best represents you?Take the quiz!

Yes, that�s right people, I�m a fire breathing, tempermental, fierce creature with scales. I guess that explains why I�m so itchy right now. If you plan on taking the quiz, beware: the creator does not know how to spell�..at all�.

Anyway�

The bad day, for the most part, ended when I went to sleep that night. I woke up the next morning to journey back to the Engineering Building to work on the paper part of the presentation with my group members. I should correct that actually, T, again, did nothing: L and I did all the work. I�m really starting to hate that kid. I�m not sure what his problem is though. Does he have no drive? Does he have no direction? Or is he just that stupid?

I�m not sure which theory I would go with actually. He doesn�t seem like a stupid guy, but the paper wasn�t that hard. All that we had to do was take the slides that we talked about and translate them into coherent paragraphs. He didn�t even write his own slides, how could it be very hard for him? Well, L sent me an email later on to double check the editing and grammar and I sent it back to her. I got another email later on in the night in which she said, �I think the two of us did a good job.

Hmmm�.T, I guess, contributed nothing to the project, but will get our grade on it. Seems fair right?

Seems like a damn broken record when it comes to group projects concerning me. I have another presentation due on Tuesday in which my partner is MIA. I hope to god I�m building up good enough karma to get a good group for the capstone class next fall.

After I finished with my portion of the paper, I took my car in to Discount Tire to have the tire either patched or replaced. I was hoping for patched, but alas, the potholes in Michigan decided to inflict my poor tire (with good tread!) with a bulge that could explode at any moment and send me careening to my death on the freeway. I chose to get a new tire based mostly on the fact that I didn�t want the damn thing popping again while I was stranded at some store.

I waited three hours at Discount Tire.

I befriended a small child (after almost killing him), an older lady, a high school aged girl, a young man with three liprings, a woman with a dog, and Tobey Maguire.

The first hour I waited for them to just get to me.

The next hour I waited while they took the tire off my car and told me I�d need a new one.

The last hour I waited for them to put my tire back on.

Yeah, great service.

Oh, I bet you�re wondering about the whole Tobey Maguire thing�

Sometime during the second hour when the employees were showing me the bulge in my tire, I heard one of them call out behind me, �We don�t work on bikes.�

I was wondering to myself who in the hell would bring a bicycle in to Discount Tire (as you can see, my logic is not all that normal most of the time). However, I turned around and saw it: a yellow Suzuki hayabusa.

�Merrrr?� I muttered aloud. Then I saw the driver: a young man of average height, dark hair, big dark eyes, baby face wearing a matching yellow jacket and carrying a black helmet.

�It�s Tobey Maguire�� I said aloud before I even realized that I was speaking. Fortunately, my crotch-rocket friend either didn�t hear me or didn�t understand me, but the guys working did.

They snickered and explained to him that they did not repair motorcycle tires and that he�d instead have to go to a performance shop.

�Where�s the nearest one?� he asked.

As soon as the guy had said the name, I knew exactly where it was. I didn�t hold back my information either.

Tobey looked at me and repeated the location. He smiled at me and turned to walk away.

�Spidersense�.� One of the employees said under his breath. All of the other employees started snickering with him. At that moment, I chose to act out.

�Do you have another helmet?� I shouted after him, following him out to the parking lot. Another one of the employees started pointing his wrists at walls and making �Kssshhhh�kssshhh� noises simulating webslinging. The whole store erupted in laughter.

�Uh�no,� he said looking back at the store with a perplexed look on his face.

Oh, my poor Tobey, please don�t think dear.

�How about you let me take it for a spin?� I said eagerly remembering my fantasies of wearing skin tight leather, zooming by people and stopping at a light to remove my helmet and swish my hair about with that oh-so-sexy mysteriousness.

�Um�.no,� he said and laughed nervously.

�Please please please please please!� I was trying to suppress the whining.

He smiled at me and zipped up his jacket, �Do you honestly think it would be safe to ride on a motorcycle that goes 200 mph or more when I just stopped in at a tire place?�

Good point Tobey.

He put on his helmet and got on the motorcycle, starting it up.

�Thank you for the directions,� he said and sped off on the fastest street vehicle known to man�..

�Where are you going Spider-man? You left Mary Jane here�� one of the employees shouted out after him as he sped away, winking at me.

Alas, my Spider-man had left and I returned back to the boredom of waiting for my car.

When the three hours had finally come to an end, I watched my car being backed out from one of the bays�right into another car. I tried, in vain, to blame the scratch from backing into a pole after winter break on the incident. I said, �You owe me for this.� They said, �Have a nice day.�

So I left and drove back to campus, which was a zoo. There were people everywhere on account of the nice weather�frisbees flying, softballs being thrown, soccer balls careening into my car. And of course, people were driving like assholes. I decided not to risk the ticket and took my car back.

I amused myself for an hour and ate after which I decided to meet up with AP, the Cheerful to talk about old times.

And boy did we talk.

With a brief intermission to grab The Insider from blockbuster and watch it at about midnight, we talked until about 4:30 in the morning.

I miss doing stuff like that.

After she left, I climbed into bed and immediately fell asleep, waking up 8 hours later to my blaring alarm.

It was time to pack.

Hopefully, since I�ve been thinking ahead by bringing home as much stuff as possible, the move out won�t compare to last year�s.

We�ll see.

Right now, it�s time for me to play with my kitties and relax in my big bed that�s actually on the ground.

I�ll worry about homework tomorrow (I hope).

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral