Wednesday, Dec. 04, 2002 12:48 a.m.

I suppose that I should say I�m sorry for the following entry, but I�m not sure that I am. I could blame it on the lack of sleep, the large amounts of stress, or just the fact that everything lacks luster right now, but I�m not gonna.

I�m just flat out bitchy right now.

I�m quite frankly, pretty sick of people telling me they�re so �busy�. It somewhat resembles the �busy� that my mom�s friend lives through. She�s so �busy� running around with her friends and shopping. I realize that there are, indeed, busy points in her life with two children in school and a daughter with a baby living with her. However, the �too busy to call� when it comes to my mother is just a farce.

I�m sorry, I don�t really think that you�re �busy� if you�re doing things that you want to do. That�s just enjoying your free time.

I guess you could say that I have a lot of resentment toward people who don�t really try very hard and just dawdle through life. I don�t find it particularly comforting to, for example, be in the engineering building until 3 am whilst other people are telling me that school is �so easy�.

I still remember that from my freshman year here. D, the Sweetheart, and I were studying for something or another when my roommate at the time spun around in her little swivel chair and said that �school is so easy�.

Yeah, I�m sure it is when you are majoring in something like women�s studies.

I have never failed a class. I have definitely come close (and I still am happy with the grade I got in that horrible class). I don�t understand, however, how one can knowingly fail a class for any reason. I can understand not being cut out for a class, or it being too hard, but simply not putting in the effort just doesn�t seem right. I mean, how can anyone be �too busy� at our age to go to class?

I�m sorry, unless you�re raising a kid, working 40 hours a week, and carrying a load of about 18 credit hours, you can�t. I�ve seen people do all of those things and still pull 4.0�s at the end of the semester.

Of course, I�m not one of them, but I don�t pretend to be an overly �busy� person. I have time to watch TV, get at least 7 hours of sleep (with the exception of last night), and go to the gym most of the time.

And before you go off taking this personally because you think I�m talking about you specifically, don�t. I�ve just run into so many people who seem to be so absorbed in something, and it sure as hell is not the big picture, who come up with excuses for not doing well in school, work, or even life.

On another note, the demonstration of projects today was really interesting. About two of the projects actually worked, but it was so interesting to see these creations that we all made from scratch doing these amazing things. We had autonomous model racecars, autonomous firefighting robots, hexapod robots, and yes, an autonomous minesweeping robot (which literally swept the mines, heh).

It�s also really cool because it means we�re done, heh. So aside from the paper, the presentation, the notebook, and the self-evaluation, I�m done with Capstone.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral