Sunday, Feb. 02, 2003 5:49 p.m.

I was watching something called True Life on MTV today.

Yeah, yeah, I can no longer say that I don�t watch MTV.

Anyway, I guess the show follows people going through the same event. For example, there was a plastic surgery one. Well, the one I was watching was about people about to get married.

And typically of the MTV generation, I was disgusted by 2 of the 3 couples profiled. There was a gay couple, a Jewish couple, and a couple from NYC. The only couple that didn�t irritate me was the gay couple.

When I tuned in, I was just in time to see a Jewish princess whining about how stressed she was on the way to getting a massage. I think she also mentioned that she didn�t work. For the wedding, she got her eyebrows tattooed [because, obviously, eyebrows are the problem here], a massage, a manicure, pedicure, and on and on and on. She also had a �dream� about her wedding cake and immediately went to the shop to have it changed, because the dream was a bad omen. The new cake was $3700; twice the price of the old cake.

The other girl was pretty vain too. She had to go tanning multiple times to make sure that every part of her was leathery brown. Her skin was just so disgusting to look at, but she didn�t really have an attitude about being too stressed out. She was just complaining about all the phone calls. Her fianc�, on the other hand, looked like he stepped out of some kind of Mafia tv show. When his limo was over an hour late, he got on the phone with the company and was cussing and screaming about how he was going to �cut� the driver if he didn�t show up within the next fifteen minutes. I can understand being pissed off about a limo being over an hour late to your wedding, but there�s no reason to make a complete ass of yourself on TV with your limited vocabulary.

Their wedding was so over the top that they spent a total of $48,000 on it and I�m pretty sure that the two of them didn�t make a whole lot of money between them. They did manage to recoup about $29,000 back in gifts, but that�s still insane for a wedding. But jeez, the mouth on this guy was unbelievable. When his friends couldn�t find the church for the rehearsal dinner, every word out of his mouth was �fuck this� and �fuck that� while he was swearing at the girl and everyone on the phone.

The Jewish princess seemed to maintain a very nice composure throughout the rest of the wedding, which was classy, not over the top like the NYC couple. They took a three week honeymoon in Europe, whereas the NYC couple couldn�t afford a honeymoon after their wedding.

Yeah, I know, to each his own, but I think I�d rather go on a honeymoon than have an ostentatious wedding.

Yech, I just hope that MTV put a negative spin on them and that they aren�t really that shallow.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral