Monday, Dec. 02, 2002 12:40 p.m.

Weird stuff is going on.

Well, aside from the fact that the robot is not working yet, I figured that I would be so busy this week that I wouldn�t be able to breathe. So far that hasn�t been the case. I did go to the EB yesterday and work on the poster which is due tomorrow, but there was nothing all that pressing that I could really do. It was mostly all about the girl who knew how to program the microcontroller. One of my other group members showed up, but no one else did. I thought that was weird because the control freaky guy didn�t show.

Anyway, I left at about 7:30 and came back to work on my antenna project�.

�only I received an email from one of my group members saying that he went home for the weekend and made the entire antenna.

This is the group that I�d have to pull teeth just to get everyone to move their asses. I stared at the email, astonished, and went to take a bath.

Just as a side note, that�s the end of the weird things going on.

I realized that I was out of my candy apple bubble bath which D, the Sweetheart, had bought for me like three Christmases ago. So while I read my book in the bubble-less bath, I thought about all the things that I wanted to buy (considering my Christmas shopping is already done, sometimes its nice to have a small family).

There are so many things that I want! My amazon wish list is something like 55 items long.

Well, let me explain that.

Whenever I�m bored, I�ll �window shop� on amazon and add things that I might want to later buy to the list. I don�t expect anyone to buy me those things, they�re just on a list so that I can remember later on what I wanted.

Anyway, I�ve noticed that most of the things on the top of my list involve exercise equipment.

Well, at least my New Year�s resolution to get back into shape is coming to fruition.

Anyway, after I�d exhausted every attempt at trying to do something productive, I started talking with AC, the Coworker online. Her boyfriend has spent the semester living with her, which was supposed to be a great thing. First, she�d get to live with her boyfriend, and second, her rent should be lower.

I�ll emphasize �should�.

Her boyfriend never ended up getting a job, so he basically never paid her for rent, food, or utilities. He�s limited in where he will and can work because he has neither a license nor a car.

I�m not trying to be condescending. You know how when you�re talking to your friends, how they almost rarely say all the gushingly sweet things that their boyfriends or girlfriends do? They mostly complain about the bad things. So for the most part, I don�t know about the �good things� that AC�s boyfriend does for her, other than when I see them together.

Anyway, I�ve heard for a couple years about the things that he does that pisses her off. Well, I guess he decided that he wasn�t going to move back in to her apartment until next semester. Instead, he�s going to stay home and take care of a few things, which is pretty reasonable since there�s only a week or two of the semester left.

AC and he have been going out for almost five years, with the exception of the few months that they were broken up last year. They, like all couples, have their ups and downs. AC wants to change a few things about him and he doesn�t want to change. He says, �Either accept me or break up with me.�

He has a good point. I�ve heard a billion times about how people don�t change, but I�m not entirely sure that�s true. I know that if something is important enough to you, you�ll do your damndest to accommodate yourself. However, AC had a good point too, �Where�s the line that divides standing by someone through hard times and being taken advantage of?�

She essentially was asking me for advice, and I really didn�t have any to give. I�ve never been in a relationship for five years. The longest I saw was two years and it�s hard to remember now all of the factors that lead to our end. Did we not get along? Were we too different? Were we looking for a way out? Did we lose interest?

I felt badly because I couldn�t tell AC if what she was going through was �normal�. I wanted to tell her what I really thought: she should end it because they�ve had these problems for the two years that I�ve known her. It�s not my place to tell her that though�I�m sure she hears it enough from her sister and parents. I also don�t know how well he treats her when their in an �up� part of the cycle. I feel uncomfortable telling people what to do regarding their love lives. It�s hard to dish out what�s right or wrong when you, yourself, don�t know. I mean, let�s face it here, I haven�t had a �successful� relationship yet. By �successful� I mean, one that has worked out.

I�m not married (or am I and this was another one of those things that I�ve forgotten? Heh).

When I was younger, I used to believe that everyone had that one person. Everyone had that one person that was meant for them and everything would work out. The hard part was finding him or her. However, I look at the people around me that I know well and it�s hard for me to believe that. My parents are divorced. My mom doesn�t seem too happy with her current husband. My father keeps his personal life a secret so I don�t really know. AC and her boyfriend seem to fight all the time. RP and hers�.well again, I don�t know much about that, but I was pretty creeped out that one time he called 27 times when we were in the bar, angry that he wasn�t �invited�. K seems to have sworn off men. JG�.well�we don�t even need to go there.

The point is that either my friends are in relationships that are going sour, I don�t know much about them, or they�re single and were very badly burned. It all makes me wonder if �true love� actually even exists. What�s the divorce rate now?

It�s really kinda sad if you think about it.

Aiya, I should get to the EB�.darned snow.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral